Diamonds can be used to celebrate and mark special occasions
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Choosing your perfect diamond

Diamonds can be used to celebrate and mark all sorts of special occasions, engagements, anniversaries, the birth of a baby, or simply to say, ‘I love you’, and our range of beautiful diamond jewellery has something for everyone.

We also understand that choosing a diamond can be a little confusing. To help you find the best diamond at the best price for your loved one, this guide explains the most important features to look out for.

If you would like further information about buying a diamond, or any of the jewellery Argos offer, please visit your nearest store, where our fully trained staff will be able to answer your questions and help you choose your perfect diamond.

The four C’s

Diamond ringDiamonds are graded and certified according to the four Cs: carat, cut, clarity and colour. These are the four most important features to take into account when buying a diamond. It’s the way that the four Cs relate together that gives value and beauty to your diamond.

The diamond you choose will depend on which features are most important to you within your budget. You may decide that a larger carat weight is more important than the clarity, or you may opt for a lower grade colour in favour of a clearer diamond.


Carat is the term used to describe the weight of a diamond, not the size.

  • A carat weighs 1/5th of a gram, so your diamond’s weight will be measured in relation to this. For example, a diamond might weigh a 1/4 of a carat.
  • If a diamond weighs less than a carat they can also be referred to in terms of points.
  • There are 100 points in a carat, so a diamond that weighs 1/4 of a carat can also be referred to as weighing 25 points.
  • This is often referred to as the Guaranteed Diamond Weight or GDW, eg: GDW 25 points.


Bookmark this:
( is not responsible for the content of external websites. These links will open a new window.)