Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  915/9079
£549.99
Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Buy now, pay 6 Months later or 36 Months at £22.31, APR 29.9%

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900652
£119.99 was £0.00
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
1077881
£14.99 Was £29.99 Half Price
 (2)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
Flat to Wall 42 Inch TV Wall Bracket.
1084812
£32.99
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on Flat to Wall 42 Inch TV Wall Bracket.
Belkin HDMI Cable - 1m.
1628649
£24.99
 (7)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Belkin HDMI Cable - 1m.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Access a world of entertainment with this Sony 42 inch Full HD 1080p TV. Providing extensive connectivity options including Wi-Fi compatibility, this Smart TV also features Dolby sound system to further enhance your viewing experience. Integrated Freeview HD digital tuner gives you the pick of the channels, whilst the 14-day EPG allows you to plan your TV viewing. PC input through HDMI socket (PC requires HDMI socket as well).

Top 5 Smart apps include: Music Unlimited, BBC iPlayer, LOVEFiLM, Netflix, Sony Entertainment Television. Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland.

Television picture quality:

  • Edge-lit LED TV Screen.
  • Smart TV.
  • Full HD (1080p) display resolution.
  • Screen size: 42 inches
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 200Hz.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • Wi-Fi enabled.
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting.

Sound quality:

  • Dolby sound system.
  • 8 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H56.8, W95.4, D6.9cm.
  • Weight of TV 9.9kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H59.5, W95.4, D19.7cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A+.
  • On mode power consumption 50 watts.
  • Off mode power consumption 0 watt.
  • Annual power consumption 69kWh.
  • This product contains lead.

EAN: 4905524915655

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV. 4.9 5 72 75
Picture perfect Easy set up, picture quality 1st class, sound much better than my older tv. All in all a good buy. 09 January 2014
Easy set up great picture I bought this product and found that It was so easy to set up,also the picture quality is excellent.iI would recommend this product as both the picture quality and sound quality are both excellent.Great television. 09 January 2014
easy to set up the picture is lovely , ive always had bush tvs but wasnt happy with my last one and took it back and bought this one so glad i did i will always get sony from now on . 09 January 2014
Great Tele We really like the Tele, it sounds a big screen and is but is not overpowering our living room. the only drawback for us is that somehow Blinkbox does not work with Sony televisions, but maybe in time they will change that too. 09 January 2014
Great TV Bargain price, set up in minutes,brilliant picture especially on full HD channels.Just a pity that ITV player is not available on smart TV's. 09 January 2014
Very happy Brilliant tv, glad i chose 42in rather than 32in in our bedroom. Movie marathon in a cozy bed! 09 January 2014
Best TV for gaming 2014 I bought this tv for my new ps4 and because of the tvs 200 motion rate its around 4x quicker than normal hd tvs also the graphics are unbelievable for the price. 09 January 2014
Amazing picture This tv shows how much technology has moved on in the last 5 years the picture quality really is astounding and makes full HD come alive as I've never seen before the sound quality although adequate really does need the benefit of a home cinema system the tv also could do with at least one more HDMI socket for your Xbox but overall this is an excellent TV for a good price recommended 08 January 2014
GREAT TV GREAT PICTURE AND SOUND 08 January 2014
Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV The picture quality is excellent and is what I expected from Sony. I was looking for a smart TV and I think this was an excellent find for the price. Was a bit disappointed with the overall design as it could have been sleeker. Was also disappointed that Sony/Argos didn't offer a free installation. 28 October 2013
Stunning TV This television is incredible. Easy to set up. It automatically adjusts colour, contrast etc to the optimum levels, so there's no need to do it manually. Internet connectivity exceeded my expectations with completely uninterrupted streaming. There are hundreds of free movies and tv shows you can stream on the Sony Entertainment Network, instantly. The picture and sound are perfect and the slim design is very pleasing. No faults of any kind. Sony may cost more, but on this evidence it's worth it. 24 October 2013
Superb TV We were going to get another Samsung LED but then I stumbled upon this Sony and I am very happy that I did! Excellent picture (particularly on HD) and very pleasantly impressed with the sound quality as this was one area our Samsung was lacking in. The ability to fit an external hard drive/USB stick and live pause and record to this from freeview has been a fantastic benefit to us and the planner is very extensive and user friendly. Overall a great buy! 16 October 2013
Good price for good TV Need to upgrade our aerial now to improve picture quality. 16 October 2013
Sony TV Entirely satisfied with this TV. Although is is a 42" screen, it is relatively unobtrusive due to its slimline design. Excellent picture and sound quality. I would highly recommend it. 16 October 2013
Great TV but read this review first I researched this TV and every other TV before making my purchase, very impressed with it, picture is very clear and the sound is awesome. Although the TV states you can mirror your smart phone this function is not available with any apple device! apple doesn't support miracast therefore won't work. A little disappointed with the mirroring function however all the other functions of this TV are great so def worth buying. 17 September 2013
Nice buy Very good for the price enjoy it 17 September 2013
super tv Great tv in every respect only one question when will sony provide itv player and 4od bbc i player and 5 excellent. 11 September 2013
Love this TV This Smart TV was perfect for us coz my kids and I didn't appreciate watching in a 3D tv. It is easy to use and most especially my 5yr old daughter can watch her favourite " my little pony" just simply using my Iphone to access the you tube on the tv. And the price was affordable as well. No need to connect our laptop to watch Netflix so I can save electricity. 10 September 2013
Excellent! There's very little to fault with this tv as it lives up to the Sony Bravia name - as far as I'm concerned it doesn't get much better:) highly recommended ! 10 September 2013
Great picture, good sound, stylish ultra-slim tv. Much improved picture than my 3 year old 37inch Samsung tv. Very simple to set up including wifi connection. Good HD picture through a loft aerial although will be viewing via Sky HD box. Would recommend this tv. 04 September 2013
(58 Questions | 68 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does this tv have you tube?

1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Bri 1
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month, 2 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Bri,

I can confirm that this TV does have a YouTube app.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the warranty on sony kdl42w653

4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
katy
Location: Castleford, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

3 months, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
There is only a year, where a well known department store offers a five year warranty as standard, and 5 year accidental care for next to nothing.

As nice as argos's price is, the after care can't compare for the price difference.
Customer avatar
by
Dontbuyit
Location: Norwich
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
4 months ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The warranty on the Sony KDL42W653 is for one year, further cover can be purchased.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it work with bt vision?

4 months, 2 weeks ago
I have bt vision - can I switch of the TV's smart function & use it as a monitor to display bt vision if required?
Customer avatar
by
danny
Location: cornwall
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
4 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi,

You can use the Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV with BT Vision.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

what is the differents with LCD and LED

4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
algy
Location: Billericay, Essex, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Thank you for your question,

Liquid crystal display (LCD) TVs emit light from behind the screen which is shone through tiny, coloured liquid crystal cells. Signals control each cell, letting different amounts of colour through to make a picture.

Televisions that use Light-emitting diodes (LED) use standard LCD technology but with a difference ? the small number of backlight lamps that illuminate the LCD screen are replaced by a larger number of tiny LEDs. As a result of this LED TVs are usually much slimmer than LCD televisions.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos_helper_146
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 915/9079

Cash price £549.99

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.