Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

 915/9079
was £536.99 £516.99 Save £20.00
Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Flat to Wall 42 Inch TV Wall Bracket.
1084812
£32.99
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on Flat to Wall 42 Inch TV Wall Bracket.
Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
1077881
£24.49 Was £29.99 Save Over £5.00
 (2)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900652
£119.99 was £0.00
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Access a world of entertainment with this Sony 42 inch Full HD 1080p TV. Providing extensive connectivity options including Wi-Fi compatibility, this Smart TV also features Dolby sound system to further enhance your viewing experience. Integrated Freeview HD digital tuner gives you the pick of the channels, whilst the 14-day EPG allows you to plan your TV viewing. PC input through HDMI socket (PC requires HDMI socket as well).

Top 5 Smart apps include: Music Unlimited, BBC iPlayer, LOVEFiLM, Netflix, Sony Entertainment Television. Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland.

Television picture quality:

  • Edge-lit LED TV Screen.
  • Smart TV.
  • Full HD (1080p) display resolution.
  • Screen size: 42in
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 200Hz.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • Wi-Fi enabled.
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting.

Sound quality:

  • Dolby sound system.
  • 8 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H56.8, W95.4, D6.9cm.
  • Weight of TV 9.9kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H59.5, W95.4, D19.7cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A+.
  • On mode power consumption 50 watts.
  • Off mode power consumption 0 watt.
  • Annual power consumption 69kWh.
  • This product contains lead.

EAN: 4905524915655

Additional Information

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV. 4.9 5 72 75
Brilliant sony Picture perfect tv, built in everything takes a while to understand all the features but best sony tv we have had, still not used all features yet, but love built in wifi etc , seems strange to have fb on the telly, but a great tv anyway, took us a couple of weeks to realise tv actually had buttons to switch on/off well hidden, but remote does it all anyway great product 05 March 2014
Excellent purchase This is a great TV with excellent picture quality . I am very happy with this purchase . 25 February 2014
Great stylish top of the range tv Tv is great we bought when on offer so that was an added bonus, great picture and sound and we bought as it was such a good price for the Sony brand we've always had lg before but thought wed try this! Smart tv options are fab too all in all a really great tv at a good price :) 25 February 2014
Excellent product Very pleased with this purchase. Great price.tj 20 February 2014
Excellent product. Good value and great quality 15 February 2014
Stunning television Must be one of the best televisions on the market for the price? So easy to set up and connect to the net. 13 February 2014
Sony KDL42W653 Great T.V. love it, picture is sharp and clear, the only thing i would say is buy a sound bar because the sound although ok would definitely benefit from this, besides that it's a brilliant product and the price is really good compared to other alternatives. 13 February 2014
Excellent TV I bought this TV in Jan 2014 its an excellent product eventhough its a bit expensive but worth having it in the living room. Screen size is great and picture quality superb. I will recommend it to others. 12 February 2014
Worth every penny I don't normally write reviews, but just had to write about this. It is in a word Fantastic. We are so happy with it, the picture quality is second to none even on none HD channels. The sound is very good crisp and clear. It also looks great on its thin metal base, which doubles as a wall bracket. Quick and easy to set up, just read the questions it asks and answer accordingly. As for the wi fi we haven't connected it so can't comment on that. 11 February 2014
Good value for money Easy to set up, very light one man lift, very flexible mounting arrangement on stand or wall, good access to external connections but would benefit from another HDMI port. Quality typical of all Sony products I have purchased. 11 February 2014
Great telly I just wanted a tv because mine packed up, this thing is awesome - Dose so much more than I expected of it, really pleased I got it. 05 February 2014
Smart tv ftw brilliant image, beautiful design and amazing sound. 04 February 2014
Sony Telly nice telly, cheers ta!! 03 February 2014
This product has great features we are very pleased with our purchase,would recomend many thanks 28 January 2014
Love it So easy to set up and connect to my wifi, my 7year old son finds it easy to swap between tv and his playstation. Brilliant picture quality and the sound is amazing. So happy with my purchase! 28 January 2014
Excellent Product Although we've only had this TV for about 4 weeks we are still learning all it's capabilities, but generally it has a fantastic clear crisp picture with good sound. Joined Love Films and have no issues streaming films as required. One of the reports I read said there were hundreds of free films on the sony entertainment system but I haven't found any yet, maybe I need to do some more digging. 20 January 2014
Good value for money. Simply adorable. Everyone shd go for it. 14 January 2014
42" Bravia with brilliant picture Absolutely fabulous picture. Best I've seen at this size. Very easy to flick through the host of options in the multitude of menus - very intuitive. Unbelievably thin and lightweight, and the picture fills almost the complete frontage with less than 1cm of surround! Fab! Downside? Not much really, but it doesn't like my limited 2Mbps broadband link saying it is too slow for films to download to it, and the Sony Entertainment Television App seems permanently "Off line at the moment - try later" 14 January 2014
86 years old....not easily pleased.... dumped a Sharp 37'' full hd with basic freeview..4 yrs old. On sky h/d produced a fairly decent picture..audio fuzzy. The Sony kdl42w653 is like comparing a ford fiesta to a Rolls Royce. impeccable picture clarity...can't fault. it.. audio near hi fi quality Smart apps lack only itv catch up content. an all round class act...has put the zing back into tv.. especially scenic and nature programmes. worth every hard earned penny.. 14 January 2014
Well worth buying I am so glad I decided to buy this tv, it is well worth it. The picture and sound quality are amazing and using the Sync feature I can connect my other Sony products to the tv including my smartphone. 09 January 2014
(58 Questions | 68 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does this tv have you tube?

3 weeks, 1 day ago
Customer avatar
by
Bri 1
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 week, 4 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Bri,

I can confirm that this TV does have a YouTube app.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the warranty on sony kdl42w653

2 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
katy
Location: Castleford, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

2 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer: 
There is only a year, where a well known department store offers a five year warranty as standard, and 5 year accidental care for next to nothing.

As nice as argos's price is, the after care can't compare for the price difference.
Customer avatar
by
Dontbuyit
Location: Norwich
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
2 months, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The warranty on the Sony KDL42W653 is for one year, further cover can be purchased.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it work with bt vision?

3 months, 1 week ago
I have bt vision - can I switch of the TV's smart function & use it as a monitor to display bt vision if required?
Customer avatar
by
danny
Location: cornwall
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 months, 1 week ago
Answer: 
Hi,

You can use the Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV with BT Vision.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
algy
Location: Billericay, Essex, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Number One Contributor
Number One Contributor
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer: 
Thank you for your question,

Liquid crystal display (LCD) TVs emit light from behind the screen which is shone through tiny, coloured liquid crystal cells. Signals control each cell, letting different amounts of colour through to make a picture.

Televisions that use Light-emitting diodes (LED) use standard LCD technology but with a difference ? the small number of backlight lamps that illuminate the LCD screen are replaced by a larger number of tiny LEDs. As a result of this LED TVs are usually much slimmer than LCD televisions.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos_helper_146
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV. 915/9079

Cash price £516.99

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.