Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  915/9079
was £516.99 £499.00 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save Over £17.00
Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Buy now, pay 9 Months later or 36 Months at £20.24, APR 29.9%

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Access a world of entertainment with this Sony 42 inch Full HD 1080p TV. Providing extensive connectivity options including Wi-Fi compatibility, this Smart TV also features Dolby sound system to further enhance your viewing experience. Integrated Freeview HD digital tuner gives you the pick of the channels, whilst the 14-day EPG allows you to plan your TV viewing. PC input through HDMI socket (PC requires HDMI socket as well).

Top 5 Smart apps include: Music Unlimited, BBC iPlayer, LOVEFiLM, Netflix, Sony Entertainment Television. Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland.

Television picture quality:

  • Edge-lit LED TV Screen.
  • Smart TV.
  • Full HD (1080p) display resolution.
  • Screen size: 42 inches
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 200Hz.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • Wi-Fi enabled.
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting.

Sound quality:

  • Dolby sound system.
  • 8 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H56.8, W95.4, D6.9cm.
  • Weight of TV 9.9kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H59.5, W95.4, D19.7cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A+.
  • On mode power consumption 50 watts.
  • Off mode power consumption 0 watt.
  • Annual power consumption 69kWh.
  • This product contains lead.

EAN: 4905524915655

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 9159079 has previously been on sale at 479.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV. 4.9 5 72 75
Great price and quality for LED smart TV Great picture quality and the sound is the best I've heard from a flat panel TV - once I'd adjusted the equaliser in the sound menu. Tried some of the smart functions/apps and they load and work OK. Only a couple of minor niggles;- (1) instructions for set-up are minimal - using the auto set-up, I spent ages misguidedly trying to sort out the satellite connection section - you don't need to! (2) Hard to find the internet browser app quickly - it's at the end of the full app listing 24 June 2014
a good purchase.really! great tv.happy to have it.nice design.good picture and sound.quiet fast and comfortable to use netflix as well :) 23 June 2014
Sony 42" Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV I would definitely recommend this product to my friends and family. The connectivity and set up was very straight forward. The picture quality is really great and the sound is great too (you don't even need it up very loud). 17 June 2014
sony tv lots of internet apps allready installed ,like the football button,easy to set up 10 June 2014
New Sony TV I bought this Sony TV as a friend had recently bought a Sony TV too and I was impressed by it. Sleek design and all you have to do is plug it in, and the TV does everything else. The sound is fine without a sound bar but I guess if you like the TV loud then you may want one. The smart TV part is amazing - connected no problems at all to my wifi connection at home, and now I am addidcted to the 30 day free trial of Netflix.How many more films can I possibly watch? I reccomend this product! 10 June 2014
So Disappointed Very poor design. Bought the Sony sound bar with this, classic tale of 2 departments not talking to each other, the sound on this TV is awful, so you need a sound bar, unfortunately, the sound bar sits too high and interferes with the remote control. if the stand was adjustable in height it would have been great. My 8 year old Samsung has a better picture. I am so disappointed. doesn't work very well with a Freeview HD PVR, the picture mode is all over the place. Not at all pleased. 10 June 2014
Mini cinema! Very pleased with my new t.v..excellent picture quality..far superior to any TV I've owned so far. Smart TV is great ..just joined Netflix ..daughter pleased. Sound is a little bit tinny though? The good far outweigh the bad. 03 June 2014
superb purchase Great buy nice finishing touch to my newly decorated lounge 27 May 2014
Excellent Sony KDL42W653 Very user friendly. Within a few minutes of unpacking and turning on for the first time, great picture, and very good connectivity to the broadband, would definitely recommend this tv. Admittedly a bit more expensive than some, but it is a Sony! 29 April 2014
Excellent I have previously owned a sony bravia tv and thought i would treat myself to the smart sony bravia. Stunning tv! Sound quality brill! After reading reviews i was expecting to have to buy a soundbar but i havent felt the need to with hearing the sound. Only thing is the bbc iplayer doesnt seem To upload the programmes but everything else is brilliant! 29 April 2014
A great TV This is our first smart tv and we are really impressed. The picture and sound quality are really good and it was simple to set up and use. 24 April 2014
Great TV - just a minor niggle The quality of the Freeview HD picture is excellent, as are the features provided. I bought an external USB 1TB disc drive for recording, but the TV only has a single tuner. I suppose most smart TVs are the same, but this means that if you are recording something, then you can only watch the channel that is being recorded. Normally you would want to watch something else. My Freesat HD PVR has dual tuners, so I doubt that I will be moving from that for my recording needs. A shame. 22 April 2014
Fantastic TV We spent hours deciding on a new family television and after all those hours decided to get this one. We are more than satisfied with our purchase! It has excellent picture & sound quality and although I've not used the 'smart' part of the TV the rest of the family have and was pleased with that function also. Only niggle I have is once it's mounted on the wall the off button behind is a little awkward to get to. Other than that Fantastic TV!! 15 April 2014
EXELLENT TV VERY GOOD PICTURE SOUND GOOD FOR FLAT SCREEN TV I HAVE A SURROUND SOUND AMP SO NOT AN ISSUE ONLY THING I HAVE NOT GOT WORKING IS WI FI CONECTION TO PC LIKE THE FACT THAT IT COMES WITH WALL FITTING BRACKET 01 April 2014
Fantastic smart tv Great tele with wifi already in it, so unlike many others you won't need to buy a dongle... I did buy a 1tb USB hard drive so I can use it to record. The sound isn't great , but not as bad as many others. The picture is fab, and I found it very easy to install as gives you step by step instructions on screen. Even connecting to the internet was a breeze, had the tv about 2 weeks now & installed lots more apps such as Netflix .. Shame Sony don't have itv player as that would make it perfect... 01 April 2014
Affordable quality Something to look out for when buying a new tv is it's refresh rate,this tv is 200hz which is plenty,don't be fooled by a bigger cheaper tv that has 50hz the picture difference is huge! And this is one of the best TVs by far for the money,also be aware that 42 inch may not seem big enough due to it's all screen and not tv.as with all TVs you really need a home theatre kit or sound bar to achieve a great sound.also on paper this tv has only two hdmi ports but mine has four! 01 April 2014
Superb Sony Always bought Sony products and always will. Everything you need from a smart TV.you don't need a sound bar because the quality is excellent if you set it right.Also picture options cover everything for a perfect picture. 18 March 2014
Great 32" TV We chose this TV as which recommended it for sound. Also had good reviews and agree great tv and sound. Looks very smart. We have another 32" but this one looks smaller as the framing around screen is thinner. 17 March 2014
Excellent purchase Great buy the only thing I would say is that getting on to the web browser is a bit difficult everything else couldn't be simpler. Just persevere it is worth it. 11 March 2014
Great quality! Great television! Fab quality. Straight forward installation. Looks good with full screen and neat stand! Highly reccomended. 08 March 2014
(59 Questions | 71 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
1 week, 1 day ago
Customer avatar
by
Lawrence
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

3 days ago
Answer: 
No. At the time of this TV's release, only Samsung did. I don't know if that is still the case
Customer avatar
by
Nick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does this tv have you tube?

2 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Bri 1
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 months, 1 week ago
Answer: 
Hi Bri,

I can confirm that this TV does have a YouTube app.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the warranty on sony kdl42w653

4 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
katy
Location: Castleford, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

4 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer: 
There is only a year, where a well known department store offers a five year warranty as standard, and 5 year accidental care for next to nothing.

As nice as argos's price is, the after care can't compare for the price difference.
Customer avatar
by
Dontbuyit
Location: Norwich
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
4 months, 4 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The warranty on the Sony KDL42W653 is for one year, further cover can be purchased.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it work with bt vision?

5 months, 2 weeks ago
I have bt vision - can I switch of the TV's smart function & use it as a monitor to display bt vision if required?
Customer avatar
by
danny
Location: cornwall
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
5 months, 1 week ago
Answer: 
Hi,

You can use the Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV with BT Vision.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 915/9079

Cash price £499.00 Please note item 9159079 has previously been on sale at 479.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.