Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

 915/9079
was £536.99 £516.99 Save £20.00
Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Access a world of entertainment with this Sony 42 inch Full HD 1080p TV. Providing extensive connectivity options including Wi-Fi compatibility, this Smart TV also features Dolby sound system to further enhance your viewing experience. Integrated Freeview HD digital tuner gives you the pick of the channels, whilst the 14-day EPG allows you to plan your TV viewing. PC input through HDMI socket (PC requires HDMI socket as well).

Top 5 Smart apps include: Music Unlimited, BBC iPlayer, LOVEFiLM, Netflix, Sony Entertainment Television. Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland.

Television picture quality:

  • Edge-lit LED TV Screen.
  • Smart TV.
  • Full HD (1080p) display resolution.
  • Screen size: 42in
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 200Hz.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • Wi-Fi enabled.
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting.

Sound quality:

  • Dolby sound system.
  • 8 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H56.8, W95.4, D6.9cm.
  • Weight of TV 9.9kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H59.5, W95.4, D19.7cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A+.
  • On mode power consumption 50 watts.
  • Off mode power consumption 0 watt.
  • Annual power consumption 69kWh.
  • This product contains lead.

EAN: 4905524915655

Additional Information

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV. 4.9 5 71 74
a good purchase.really! great tv.happy to have it.nice design.good picture and sound.quiet fast and comfortable to use netflix as well :) 23 June 2014
Sony 42" Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV I would definitely recommend this product to my friends and family. The connectivity and set up was very straight forward. The picture quality is really great and the sound is great too (you don't even need it up very loud). 17 June 2014
sony tv lots of internet apps allready installed ,like the football button,easy to set up 10 June 2014
New Sony TV I bought this Sony TV as a friend had recently bought a Sony TV too and I was impressed by it. Sleek design and all you have to do is plug it in, and the TV does everything else. The sound is fine without a sound bar but I guess if you like the TV loud then you may want one. The smart TV part is amazing - connected no problems at all to my wifi connection at home, and now I am addidcted to the 30 day free trial of Netflix.How many more films can I possibly watch? I reccomend this product! 10 June 2014
So Disappointed Very poor design. Bought the Sony sound bar with this, classic tale of 2 departments not talking to each other, the sound on this TV is awful, so you need a sound bar, unfortunately, the sound bar sits too high and interferes with the remote control. if the stand was adjustable in height it would have been great. My 8 year old Samsung has a better picture. I am so disappointed. doesn't work very well with a Freeview HD PVR, the picture mode is all over the place. Not at all pleased. 10 June 2014
Mini cinema! Very pleased with my new t.v..excellent picture quality..far superior to any TV I've owned so far. Smart TV is great ..just joined Netflix ..daughter pleased. Sound is a little bit tinny though? The good far outweigh the bad. 03 June 2014
superb purchase Great buy nice finishing touch to my newly decorated lounge 27 May 2014
Excellent Sony KDL42W653 Very user friendly. Within a few minutes of unpacking and turning on for the first time, great picture, and very good connectivity to the broadband, would definitely recommend this tv. Admittedly a bit more expensive than some, but it is a Sony! 29 April 2014
Excellent I have previously owned a sony bravia tv and thought i would treat myself to the smart sony bravia. Stunning tv! Sound quality brill! After reading reviews i was expecting to have to buy a soundbar but i havent felt the need to with hearing the sound. Only thing is the bbc iplayer doesnt seem To upload the programmes but everything else is brilliant! 29 April 2014
A great TV This is our first smart tv and we are really impressed. The picture and sound quality are really good and it was simple to set up and use. 24 April 2014
Great TV - just a minor niggle The quality of the Freeview HD picture is excellent, as are the features provided. I bought an external USB 1TB disc drive for recording, but the TV only has a single tuner. I suppose most smart TVs are the same, but this means that if you are recording something, then you can only watch the channel that is being recorded. Normally you would want to watch something else. My Freesat HD PVR has dual tuners, so I doubt that I will be moving from that for my recording needs. A shame. 22 April 2014
Fantastic TV We spent hours deciding on a new family television and after all those hours decided to get this one. We are more than satisfied with our purchase! It has excellent picture & sound quality and although I've not used the 'smart' part of the TV the rest of the family have and was pleased with that function also. Only niggle I have is once it's mounted on the wall the off button behind is a little awkward to get to. Other than that Fantastic TV!! 15 April 2014
EXELLENT TV VERY GOOD PICTURE SOUND GOOD FOR FLAT SCREEN TV I HAVE A SURROUND SOUND AMP SO NOT AN ISSUE ONLY THING I HAVE NOT GOT WORKING IS WI FI CONECTION TO PC LIKE THE FACT THAT IT COMES WITH WALL FITTING BRACKET 01 April 2014
Fantastic smart tv Great tele with wifi already in it, so unlike many others you won't need to buy a dongle... I did buy a 1tb USB hard drive so I can use it to record. The sound isn't great , but not as bad as many others. The picture is fab, and I found it very easy to install as gives you step by step instructions on screen. Even connecting to the internet was a breeze, had the tv about 2 weeks now & installed lots more apps such as Netflix .. Shame Sony don't have itv player as that would make it perfect... 01 April 2014
Affordable quality Something to look out for when buying a new tv is it's refresh rate,this tv is 200hz which is plenty,don't be fooled by a bigger cheaper tv that has 50hz the picture difference is huge! And this is one of the best TVs by far for the money,also be aware that 42 inch may not seem big enough due to it's all screen and not tv.as with all TVs you really need a home theatre kit or sound bar to achieve a great sound.also on paper this tv has only two hdmi ports but mine has four! 01 April 2014
Superb Sony Always bought Sony products and always will. Everything you need from a smart TV.you don't need a sound bar because the quality is excellent if you set it right.Also picture options cover everything for a perfect picture. 18 March 2014
Great 32" TV We chose this TV as which recommended it for sound. Also had good reviews and agree great tv and sound. Looks very smart. We have another 32" but this one looks smaller as the framing around screen is thinner. 17 March 2014
Excellent purchase Great buy the only thing I would say is that getting on to the web browser is a bit difficult everything else couldn't be simpler. Just persevere it is worth it. 11 March 2014
Great quality! Great television! Fab quality. Straight forward installation. Looks good with full screen and neat stand! Highly reccomended. 08 March 2014
Brilliant sony Picture perfect tv, built in everything takes a while to understand all the features but best sony tv we have had, still not used all features yet, but love built in wifi etc , seems strange to have fb on the telly, but a great tv anyway, took us a couple of weeks to realise tv actually had buttons to switch on/off well hidden, but remote does it all anyway great product 05 March 2014
(57 Questions | 67 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the warranty on sony kdl42w653

1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
katy
Location: Castleford, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

3 weeks, 6 days ago
Answer: 
There is only a year, where a well known department store offers a five year warranty as standard, and 5 year accidental care for next to nothing.

As nice as argos's price is, the after care can't compare for the price difference.
Customer avatar
by
Dontbuyit
Location: Norwich
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
1 month ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The warranty on the Sony KDL42W653 is for one year, further cover can be purchased.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it work with bt vision?

1 month, 3 weeks ago
I have bt vision - can I switch of the TV's smart function & use it as a monitor to display bt vision if required?
Customer avatar
by
danny
Location: cornwall
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi,

You can use the Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV with BT Vision.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
algy
Location: Billericay, Essex, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Number One Contributor
Number One Contributor
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Thank you for your question,

Liquid crystal display (LCD) TVs emit light from behind the screen which is shone through tiny, coloured liquid crystal cells. Signals control each cell, letting different amounts of colour through to make a picture.

Televisions that use Light-emitting diodes (LED) use standard LCD technology but with a difference ? the small number of backlight lamps that illuminate the LCD screen are replaced by a larger number of tiny LEDs. As a result of this LED TVs are usually much slimmer than LCD televisions.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos_helper_146
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
Can some one tell me that what do you get with this tv? Like any cables to connect to your aerial or any accessories?
Customer avatar
by
Raja
Location: Glasgow
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 month, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
The Tv came with a remote control and wall fittings and the stand. There wer no cables - as you dont need any as all your existing products should plug staright into it. My DVD plugged into the scart socket and my HD recoder pugged into one of the 4 HDMI sockets. There is also a satelite socket (not used by me as I use my HD recorder box) as well as a traditional aerial socket. Hope this helps.
Customer avatar
by
Jamie
Location: Bucks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 month, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
You only get the very minimum, no cables apart from the power.
Customer avatar
by
AndyWales
Location: Swansea, UK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV. 915/9079

Cash price £516.99

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Delivery charge - from £3.95 Home delivery within 2 days

Monday - Friday between 7am and 8pm. Next day no additional charge. Saturday £6.95. Order before 5pm for Next day delivery. Saturday between 7am and 6pm.You only pay one delivery charge per order. If ordering several items, it will be the highest of the individual charges, no matter how many additional items you order.

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.