Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV.

 915/9062
was £369.99 £284.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £85.00
Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Explore a world of Full HD with this stylish Sony KDL40R473 widescreen TV. With integrated Freeview HD digital tuner, enjoy viewing your favourite TV shows with clear visuals and crisp sounds generated by the NICAM audio system. Slim and stylish in design, this Sony R4 Series TV enables you to share pictures and music by simply connecting your Smartphone device.

Television picture quality:

  • Screen size: 40in (101.6cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 100Hz.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • Ethernet connection.
  • Open browser.
  • Suitable for wall mounting.

Sound quality:

  • Dolby sound system.
  • 8 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview digital tuner.
  • 14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H54.8, W92.3, D7.6cm.
  • Weight of TV 7.3kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H57.4, W92.3, D18.4cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 7.6kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 87 watts.
  • Off mode power consumption 0 watt.
  • Annual power consumption 89kWh.

EAN: 4905524915822

Additional Information

* Please note item 9159062 has previously been on sale at 299.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV. 4.8 5 75 79
All round excellent product Easy to set up and connect up to cabled service, the picture clarity is very good ,the design is well thought out ,the stand is good looking and sturdy all round terrific value for money!! 25 March 2014
An excellent TV I am delighted with my recent purchase of a Sony 40" Full HD LED TV. The picture quality and sound are both excellent. Setting it up was relatively simple. Furthermore, the price was fantastic, compared to other Sony 40" TVs. 13 March 2014
What a tv This sony tv is very good, easy to set up done in 15 min or quicker .picture is very good,it looks good sound is very good wearing earring aids as I do ,we had a sound bar but not needed with this tv ,I would recommend this tv ,this is the best tv we have had, 11 March 2014
This is Sony Quality. Great picture and easy to use. I didn't want a Smart TV as I have Apple TV already. Good Value. Only criticisms are that is has only 2 HDMI leads and I can't play out to my stereo and play through TV speakers at the same time. 07 March 2014
Super Sony Slick design with perfect picture & sound quality. So user friendly and the installation was a cinch. Good price too.. 04 March 2014
brilliant tv This T.V. does exactly what it says on the box. Very easy to connect to other equipment. It is stylish and because of the screen surround the picture is superb. 04 March 2014
Perfect for PS4 All round great T.V and definitely worth the money! 26 February 2014
Great Tv Perfect telly for what i needed. Didn't need a 'smart' tv due to owning a Playstation 3. Just the style and picture quality does it for me. 19 February 2014
Top Quality Sony Product after much research we decided that this Sony TV had everything we needed and we weren't disappointed. Good value too as we purchased when discounted. Great delivery, made at a time to suit us. 28 January 2014
Easy to use Really easy TV to set up. Good size. Great quality all round from a Sony TV. Very pleased. 28 January 2014
sony 40 inch full hd led clear picture and quality, and very good sound 16 January 2014
Good set at the price Simple set up. easy to use. Picture and sound very good. Only real problem is the lack of a 3rd HDMI socket. 15 January 2014
Very Clear Picture and Easy Set Up This TV is excellent. The picture quality is superb and it was really easy and quick to set up. Full marks. 15 January 2014
Good enough Not the initial TV set I wanted but settled for a Sony (sales stock running low!) I managed to get this at a good price. Picture is good, quite basic settings but overall works well with Sky box. Just a shame not every channel is in HD for free. HD quality is good, not the best I've seen, but when you start getting bigger TV's, your pixels are generally bigger - make sure you buy a TV to adapt to your room size. The USB socket is a great feature - played Photos and video (AVI file) fine. 14 January 2014
very good telly this was bought to replace a VERY old Sony television. THis item has good volume, good colour and has a nice, sharp picture. 14 January 2014
Excellent tv Picture & sound quality is brilliant. I watch sky HD channels a lot and this tv shows HD quality 14 January 2014
always worth the extra money I am a great Sony person. I have had a life repairing Televisions. I always buy Sony as I never have to repair them. This television is easy to set up and has a great picture. I like the sound quality. Its loud enough for me on number 14. it can go up to 100. I watch films I have downloaded off the internet and it plays them perfectly. I do use MP4 format. Not tried any other. Pictures too are perfect. You can see them the moment you put the usb stick into the Sony TV 09 January 2014
Stunning What a fantastic TV. Upgraded from a smaller LCD Samsung and the difference in quality is amazing. Easy to setup, superb picture quality, really well made and looks stunning in our lounge. what more could you want!?? 09 January 2014
top tv do buy ,so simple to set up. 01 November 2013
Bought this to replace tv that we had to return due to poor sound and picture. This is superb in comparsion and looks nicer too. Good customer service at Stirling branch too 29 October 2013
(46 Questions | 50 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Can I run my I pad through this tv

1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Johny b
Location: Fife, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 weeks, 6 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Johnny,

You are not able to mirror your iPad on this TV without purchasing Apple TV.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

What's the input lag on this?

1 month, 1 week ago
I want to use this for gaming and so therefore obviously i need a low input lag, i will only buy this if it has less than 10ms input lag, also i noticed that someone asked this earlier and the answer was that the input lag varies because of different factors, well the other TV's on here have an input lag statistic so therefore i don't see why this TV can't have that same statistic
Customer avatar
by
John Shepard
Location: United Kingdom, Essex, Colchester
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The input lag of the Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV is 42 ms.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos_helper_52
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Saorview

1 month, 2 weeks ago
I am confused. Does this Television have Saorview. This question was asked by another person who was given two answers - one answer said it does have Saorview but the other answer said it does NOT have Saorview. Can you please clarify this for me.
Customer avatar
by
John McEvoy
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month, 1 week ago
Answer: 
Hi,

I can confirm that the Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV is Saorview approved. I am sorry for the incorrect information previously given,.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos_helper_52
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
buyer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 months, 1 week ago
Answer: 
It's black. The stand is silver :)
Customer avatar
by
Matty
Location: Raynes Park, London SW20, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV. 915/9062

Cash price £284.99 Please note item 9159062 has previously been on sale at 299.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.