Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV.

 915/9062
was £369.99 £284.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £85.00
Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Explore a world of Full HD with this stylish Sony KDL40R473 widescreen TV. With integrated Freeview HD digital tuner, enjoy viewing your favourite TV shows with clear visuals and crisp sounds generated by the NICAM audio system. Slim and stylish in design, this Sony R4 Series TV enables you to share pictures and music by simply connecting your Smartphone device.

Television picture quality:

  • Screen size: 40in (101.6cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 100Hz.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • Ethernet connection.
  • Open browser.
  • Suitable for wall mounting.

Sound quality:

  • Dolby sound system.
  • 8 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview digital tuner.
  • 14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H54.8, W92.3, D7.6cm.
  • Weight of TV 7.3kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H57.4, W92.3, D18.4cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 7.6kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 87 watts.
  • Off mode power consumption 0 watt.
  • Annual power consumption 89kWh.

EAN: 4905524915822

Additional Information

* Please note item 9159062 has previously been on sale at 299.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV. 4.8 5 75 79
Superb value for money! This is the first large flat screen TV that I have purchased. It replaced our long-serving CRT TV; also a Sony. I am delighted with the clean, modern styling & of course, the picture & sound quality. Would recommend! 16 July 2014
Good quality for the price. Good quality TV for the price, not as good as my previous Sony TV. Nevertheless I am very happy with this TV, don't think you will buy a better one for the price. The staff at my local argos were very helpful. 15 July 2014
Great Looker Bought this TV for my elderly mum who has impaired vision.The colour ,sound and clarity of picture are second to none. The manager at Grimsby at Alexander Docks branch was very understanding as you cannot view the picture standard before buying but this was not a problem as we are delighted with this product and would recommend highly. 15 July 2014
Perfect. Bought this TV as an upgrade to the existing living room TV, from 32" to the SONY. The setup is easy, fast no hassle. The TV it's self is very nice in design, sleek and tidy. Picture quality is amazing along with the sound particularly on the HD channels. Syncing with other SONY equipment like our Blu-ray player was extremely easy. Over all i would highly recommend this TV to anyone who might be swaying on the decision. 08 July 2014
Brilliant tv! Fantastic tv , brilliant quality, stunning picture and great sound So light and slim and it looks fantastic Worth every penny! 08 July 2014
nice tv I was going to buy a LG TV as I always end up going for them as they am a good TV but none in stock the one I wanted . so went for this after reading the reviews and glad I did great picture and good sound easy to tune and very light to pick up compared to my old lg and was delivered with in a few hours by the shutl service great service and great TV and good price in the sale thank you Argos great place to shop 26 June 2014
Brilliant! This tv is brilliant and I was (and still am) very pleased with it. I saw this in the sale and WOW!! It's looks very elegant! The picture quality is amazing -The HD is Stunning and with the 100hz technology there's not a single dead pixel or any motion blur. -Very good for sport, watching the World Cup on this screen has been a god send! The sound is perfect! -For built in speakers, these have to be the best. -I still would recommend getting a sound bar just for the experience! 10/10 24 June 2014
A Great Choice I am very happy with this TV, it was very easy to set up and straight forward settings to sort out for my Sony PS3 game console. Going from a bulky and heavy CRT 26" , to this light slim 40" was fantastic. My advise, if you can afford to get this model tv, then don't hang about, get yourself to your nearest Argos :-). Lol. 24 June 2014
Brilliant TV, I would recommend in a heartbeat! The picture is great, although slightly disappointing if you're not watching something in HD. The sound is way better than I expected it to be - not tinny at all, and it looks great in my living room. 18 June 2014
Sony KDL40R473 40 inch Full HD LED TV Looked at alternatives before purchasing this one and I am confident that I made the right choice. I didn't want the SMART version and this one comes in a 40 inch screen, which is the perfect size for our room. The slim surround has allowed us to go from a 32 inch to a 40 inch without increasing the overall size of the unit. The picture quality is very good as is the sound with its downward speakers. Good value for money. 12 June 2014
Great for PS4! This tv was purchased to replace a 5 year old toshiba. Pros; Native 1080p = great for Gaming High Refresh rate = Great for Gaming Nice colours and very stylish design, most stable stand I have come across which is a must with kids around. Well done there Sony. Plays films from usb. Sound I cant comment on as running a bose pc surround 3.1 out of the 3.5mm headphone jack, this is great as I have noticed a lot of tvs dropping the headphone jack these day. tv=10/10 05 June 2014
Awesome TV Great TV great picture .....easy peasey to set up and great price so pleased with it and great price as well...! 27 May 2014
40 inch tv Great sound and picture also great value for money 20 May 2014
Great TV I bought this TV as a gift and the recipients are delighted with it. The picture quality is outstanding specially in HD. The TV also looks great, all in all a great TV. 20 May 2014
exellent exactly what was needed , crisp hd picture and surprisingly good sound 15 May 2014
Sony let down Not the best Sony I've owned and I have had a good few. Cheap product you can lift it with one hand. I had to hunt for a new wall bracket as the fixing holes are located at the bottom of the set no mid or top fixings. 13 May 2014
Excellent product I bought this to replace my broken Sony tv and I wasn't disappointed. The sound and picture quality are excellent! Very good value for money and very easy to set up 29 April 2014
Lovely tv No problems with this tv it's great and was cheap for the size! Shame it only has 2 hdmi ports as we use 4 so we have had to compromise 15 April 2014
Sony 40in tv Very impressed with this product. Great value for money. Best tv ive had so far 09 April 2014
Sony TV Very sleek, slim line and lightweight. Great picture resolution and very happy with my purchase. 27 March 2014
(46 Questions | 50 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Can I run my I pad through this tv

1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Johny b
Location: Fife, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 weeks, 2 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Johnny,

You are not able to mirror your iPad on this TV without purchasing Apple TV.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

What's the input lag on this?

1 month ago
I want to use this for gaming and so therefore obviously i need a low input lag, i will only buy this if it has less than 10ms input lag, also i noticed that someone asked this earlier and the answer was that the input lag varies because of different factors, well the other TV's on here have an input lag statistic so therefore i don't see why this TV can't have that same statistic
Customer avatar
by
John Shepard
Location: United Kingdom, Essex, Colchester
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
4 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The input lag of the Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV is 42 ms.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos_helper_52
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Saorview

1 month, 2 weeks ago
I am confused. Does this Television have Saorview. This question was asked by another person who was given two answers - one answer said it does have Saorview but the other answer said it does NOT have Saorview. Can you please clarify this for me.
Customer avatar
by
John McEvoy
Location: Cavan, Ireland
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month ago
Answer: 
Hi,

I can confirm that the Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV is Saorview approved. I am sorry for the incorrect information previously given,.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos_helper_52
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
buyer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 months ago
Answer: 
It's black. The stand is silver :)
Customer avatar
by
Matty
Location: Raynes Park, London SW20, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Sony KDL40R473 40 Inch Full HD LED TV. 915/9062

Cash price £284.99 Please note item 9159062 has previously been on sale at 299.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.