NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  501/1283
was £49.99 £29.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £20.00
NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Up to 56 days to pay

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

The clever Nook Simple Touch GlowLight allows you to read glare-free in the sunshine and late into the night with the easily adjustable lighting. Lose yourself in over 1 month of reading without having to re-charge and enjoy a customised experience with a choice of font styles and sizes.

E-reader features:

  • 6 inch e-ink touch screen.
  • Wi-Fi connectivity.
  • Stores 1000 books.
  • 2GB holds up to 1,000 eBooks (1GB for content, 750MB reserved for NOOK content).
  • Extra-long battery life lets you read for over 2 months with GlowLight off, 1 month with GlowLight on.
  • Comes with a MicroUSB cable and UK mains plug to charge your NOOK.
  • Charge time of 3.5 hours.
  • Battery life of 1344 hours.
  • Choose from 6 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.
  • Supported formats: ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.

General information:

  • Size H16.54, W12.66, D1.2cm.
  • Weight 197g.
  • EAN: 9781400501717.

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 34.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight. 4.6 5 217 222
Excellent e reader Brought this to replace previous Nook which had gone wrong and had money refunded as no longer available. This one is just as fantastic but has a back light so you can read at night without having to put on a light. I can read in bright sunshine clearly, something that iPads etc won't let you do even with screen protectors. Defiantly recommend this product. 13 April 2014
Superb Buy We have four Nook Simple Touch readers in our family already which are great, but as I am a bad sleeper I knew I was disturbing my husband putting the bedside light on and off all night, so I decided to try the Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight. Superb buy ! The light is bright and also adjustable, don't need any other light on in the room. The battery lasts for weeks, it's light to hold and the best thing I have bought in ages. My husband gets a good nights sleep too. Highly recommended. 09 April 2014
Lovely as a Birthday Present This was bought as a Birthday Present for My Partner and she Loved the ease of use and being able to pick the Font size. But mostly amount of books your can store on it. Her first book was from an Author she would not normally even think of reading from, but tried it and finished the whole book. We went on holiday with it and it was great. The gentle back light which you can adjust in brightness was a Real Bonus and Very Useful. 01 April 2014
Good if it hadn't broken This is a good e-book reader and the glowlight function is good but not as good as a Kindle paperwhite! I was happy enough but two days into use, it developed a strange bright area around the middle of the screen. Argos refunded me, no problem and I bought the Kindle which is definitely better. 01 April 2014
Too early to tell Reviews should be asked for 6 months+ down the line when you might have more idea of a product's reliability. However it does what it claims, it's easy to transfer pdfs etc from your pc (windows or linux) , screen is good. 01 April 2014
Very pleased with the product and the service. 01 April 2014
amazing! I'm really surprised how much you can like device like this! Easy to use in public transport, small so easy to take everywhere with me. Perfect! 26 March 2014
nook ere3ader Very easy to set up a great ereader 25 March 2014
Great ebook Have loved reading even more since purchasing my nook. Easy to pop in your bag and read anywhere. Battery life seems good so far and pretty easy to use. Glow light is a little bright in my opinion for reading in the dark but otherwise I love my nook! 22 March 2014
So Good I bought this Nook as my other reader just ran out of power in a very short time no good at all on a long flight. I find this nice on the eyes and fits in my hand bag. Very easy to load books. A VERY GOOD PRODUCT AND PRICE. 18 March 2014
Not just a gimmick Although I prefer printed books, an e-reader has a number of advantages - especially portability and ease of reading in bed or where light is poor. This Nook is very handy and quite easy to use, especially as it has a built-in light. Free books are available from most local libraries. A simple slip-in case is recommended to protect the Nook and prevent scratches to the screen. 18 March 2014
Excellent Would definitely recommend this product. I upgraded from simple touch. Having problems linking to social media accounts but nook uk are on the case. Take it everywhere with me. I've always been a bookworm but even more so now. Has even helped with my revision as you can upload your own PDF dicuments 18 March 2014
great value for money Really happy with purchase 18 March 2014
Fantastic I've been looking to buy an ereader for a while now, and after reading many reviews decided to go for this one... and what a good decision that was! Lightweight, easy to use; the GlowLight means I can read anywhere at anytime; and I can transfer all my university lectures onto it - very useful! I would recommend this to everyone, such good value for money, and overall a great product 18 March 2014
E Reader After a long time resisting buying an e-reader (I like turning the pages in a real book) I decided to take the plunge and buy myself one. I read a few reviews and this came well recommended. I am so glad I bought this, and with the special offer from Argos too, what a bonus 18 March 2014
Pleasantly surpeised I was dubious about the nook as it is so much cheaper than the Kindle Paperwhite (Which my wife has and loves). But at nearly £60 cheaper, it was worth the punt. Worth every penny, just as nice to read on, buttons positioned well if you prefer to use the buttons like I do for page turning. Loads books quickly and battery still going strong, still at 60% after two weeks of say 45 minutes a night with light on. The Nook store is slightly more expensive than the kindle store but not by much. 11 March 2014
1 imporant fact they don't tell you before you buy you MUST have a credit credit in order to use this product - even if you are only loading free books - they don't tell you this before you buy then tell you it is exempt from the money back guarantee...... just be aware if you are buying for a gift as not everyone has a credit card. Otherwise product is ok but I'd probably recommend a kindle instead 11 March 2014
very good light weight to hold not to heavy please with product easy to use and very light to hold good light when reading in the dark 05 March 2014
Does what it says on the box. This is the first reader I have purchased so cannot compare it to any other products. The Nook does what it says on the box and so far I have been very happy with it. Was easy to set up and download books. I would recommend it. 05 March 2014
It's a winner Having had 3 other ereaders previously, I bought one of these. I now am a very happy reader, the battery life is excellent, it's easy to use, lightweight (very handy as I have limited mobility in my hands), the glow light is easy to set to my preferences. I would not hesitate to recommend this product. It was such a bargain and I raved about it that much my husband now has one too. It truly deserves it's full marks in my humble opinion. 04 March 2014
<<< Previous 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 Next >>>
(35 Questions | 46 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it come alredy registered

2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ronaldo
Location: London
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 months ago
Answer: 
Hi Ronaldo.

Thanks for your question.

I'm sorry but I'm not sure what you mean by your question. The Glowlight will need configuring for your own personal needs but that won't be complex.

Hope that helps but if not please message back and we will endeavour to help you -
Customer avatar
by
Mel @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
I'm thinking of buying this for my dad but as he has no wifi it needs to connect to his computer to download.
Customer avatar
by
Sapphie
Location: Somerset, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

6 Answer(s)

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes, you just plug it into your computer and can download books and other things from various ebook websites
Customer avatar
by
Crocus
Location: Faringdon
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes the usb allows you to download books, but I have been told you can use your library to download too, I cannot say if this is true or not, but you could look into that, in your area.
Customer avatar
by
Lesley
Location: Pontefract
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes you can use a USB cable to download e-books. I buy e-books from Sainsbury's and once the book has been down loaded to my laptop I can then use the USB cable that came with my NOOK to connect the two and then transfer from laptop to NOOK, easy.
Customer avatar
by
Cookie 626
Location: Fife, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
The USB connection allows you to put books onto the device.

From Nook, these have to be purchased over the air and installed via Wifi. But if you have already purchased the files or borrowed from library you just copy over. Takes a few mins.
Customer avatar
by
Steve
Location: London, United Kingdom
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes I bought a 18000 book disc easily transfered from computer.
Customer avatar
by
merv
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes.. I have down loaded 2 so far, with out any trouble.
Customer avatar
by
Ann-Marie
Location: Shropshire
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Alhaurina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hello,
The NOOK Simple Touch only supports ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Jojo
Location: Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hi Jojo,
The Nook Simple Touch is currently only supplied in 2GB and with a black and white E-Ink screen.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 501/1283

Cash price £29.99 Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 34.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.