NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  501/1283
was £49.99 £34.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £15.00
NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Up to 56 days to pay

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

The clever Nook Simple Touch GlowLight allows you to read glare-free in the sunshine and late into the night with the easily adjustable lighting. Lose yourself in over 1 month of reading without having to re-charge and enjoy a customised experience with a choice of font styles and sizes.

E-reader features:

  • 6 inch e-ink touch screen.
  • Wi-Fi connectivity.
  • Stores 1000 books.
  • 2GB holds up to 1,000 eBooks (1GB for content, 750MB reserved for NOOK content).
  • Extra-long battery life lets you read for over 2 months with GlowLight off, 1 month with GlowLight on.
  • Comes with a MicroUSB cable and UK mains plug to charge your NOOK.
  • Charge time of 3.5 hours.
  • Battery life of 1344 hours.
  • Choose from 6 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.
  • Supported formats: ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.

General information:

  • Size H16.54, W12.66, D1.2cm.
  • Weight 197g.
  • EAN: 9781400501717.

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 39.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight. 4.6 5 217 222
Highly recommended This was a birthday present for my daughter - it does everything and more than expected. Very good as the format is 'friendly' for library books. The Nook website is excellent and the price of e-books competitive. For the price of it can not be faulted. Excellent and a great buy. 05 July 2014
Fantastic e-reader I purchased this as an upgrade for the Nook simple touch as I found reading in bed a bit of a strain on my eyes . and the backlight on the Nook simple touch glowlight makes all the difference. fantastic buy I would definitely recommend this e-reader. 02 July 2014
Versatile E Reader I bought this for my mother who is in her eighties and find it more difficult to read normal text. It is easy with the Nook to change the font size and the glowlight helps reading in poor light e.g. in bed. I chose an e reader rather than a tablet for ease of use as she has never used a PC or tablet. It is cheaper than a Kindle and you can access library loans via our PC which you cannot on a Kindle. Plenty of added features e.g. adding notes etc. 01 July 2014
A saviour from Kindle world I can even read this in the dark without any lights on except the built in glowlight feature and it doesnt draw my eyes. While slightly bulkier than the kindle and only able to view in portrait this works very well and i have 5000 books on the 2GB memory card i put into the Nook. Used this 2 hours every day since i bought it with very little usage on the battery 24 June 2014
Simple to use!! Fabulous piece of techonology!! Bought this for my father who is 71, best gift he has ever received! Very easy to set up and to use...GlowLight is a great feature on it too!! 24 June 2014
Nook e Reader This product was easy to set up has its own glow-light to aid reading and best of all you are able to copy books of various formats onto it for reading. 24 June 2014
Great little machine. Very easy to use, can read anywhere. Load of free books. 18 June 2014
Nook beats kindle !!! 3 stores listed as being in stock, when arrived at stores not listed! Finally got my hands on one!! Easy to set up and I speedily downloaded my first book, so fast and so easy to use my Nook. When reading on the bus my hand / finger accidentally grazed the screen and flipped through some pages, I used the search / page number function and easily round my place. cheaper than kindle. It's so much easier reading with my nook and I read more. you can download other formats of books, increase memory 17 June 2014
Nook is Great This is a product I would recommend for every house hold. I should appreciate the level finishing which more than any other conventional product available in the market. Further Nook gives the space to add memory cards which no other company gives. 17 June 2014
Good all round I am not really "a reader" but bought one of these for holidays. It was great and I now read more than ever, and have been able to easily obtain free downloads. I was so pleased, I bought my husband one and he is very impressed. In fact, we never missed TV when staying in at night on holiday for 3 weeks. It is good both in the dark and in sunlight and very portable. 28 May 2014
Cheap and unreliable Item broke after 24 hours of use. Contacted the NOOK support, only to be advised that the item had a defective screen and would need to be repaired. I returned the item for a full refund at Argos! I would not buy this item again, think ill stick to my iPad 27 May 2014
Excellent value for money Good display, very handy size, excellent price. No zoom so detailed graphs are unreadable without a magnifying glass. 27 May 2014
Excellent value Bought this as a present for my wife - she loves it and she's hard to please. Good looking, easy to use, great value and delivery prompt. 20 May 2014
Has revived my love of reading... ... and unglued me from my Smartphone. This has revitalised my reading. Prior to getting it I was struggling to finish books (in particular Game of Thrones), just lack of time/smartphone addiction/not carrying chunky books around so much. Now I carry the Nook pretty much everywhere. After almost a month of use for between one and two hours a day I was down to 20% charge yesterday. Now I've sped through 5 books in less weeks! Hoorah! 06 May 2014
Great e reader This is my first e reader I brought it as I can't read books outside on my tablet and this was cheap with all the reviews I decided this was the best one to get for my needs 06 May 2014
Great basic ereader Enjoyed this ereader whilst on holiday, it is small, portable and has a great battery life. However mine has started to freeze occasionally and so will have to be returned and fixed/replaced. 03 May 2014
Good for reading in bed I would recommend this product as I've just been diagnosed with Rheumatoid arthritis and struggle to hold a book open at the page I'm reading, but the Nook means I can continue with the hobby I love. Plus as an added bonus is good for using in bed without disturbing your partner, if you like to read in bed. 30 April 2014
great little buy I love this e reader. The light is a great feature too. The price is excellent & you are able to download lots of free books at the nook bookshop. Wish I had bought one sooner. 29 April 2014
Purchased for our grandson My wife has the nook simple touch without the light and she seems pleased with it. So we decided to purchase this for our grandsons 21st birthday. Main reason for buying the nook, so our grandson can download library ebooks. 22 April 2014
Better than expectations! Bought this as a gift for my husband. Very comfortable to hold in the hand. Glowlight is great for reading at night but have yet to try in the sunshine. 15 April 2014
<<< Previous 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 Next >>>
(35 Questions | 46 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it come alredy registered

1 month, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Ronaldo
Location: London
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Ronaldo.

Thanks for your question.

I'm sorry but I'm not sure what you mean by your question. The Glowlight will need configuring for your own personal needs but that won't be complex.

Hope that helps but if not please message back and we will endeavour to help you -
Customer avatar
by
Mel @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
I'm thinking of buying this for my dad but as he has no wifi it needs to connect to his computer to download.
Customer avatar
by
Sapphie
Location: Somerset, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

6 Answer(s)

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes, you just plug it into your computer and can download books and other things from various ebook websites
Customer avatar
by
Crocus
Location: Faringdon
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes the usb allows you to download books, but I have been told you can use your library to download too, I cannot say if this is true or not, but you could look into that, in your area.
Customer avatar
by
Lesley
Location: Pontefract
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes you can use a USB cable to download e-books. I buy e-books from Sainsbury's and once the book has been down loaded to my laptop I can then use the USB cable that came with my NOOK to connect the two and then transfer from laptop to NOOK, easy.
Customer avatar
by
Cookie 626
Location: Fife, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
The USB connection allows you to put books onto the device.

From Nook, these have to be purchased over the air and installed via Wifi. But if you have already purchased the files or borrowed from library you just copy over. Takes a few mins.
Customer avatar
by
Steve
Location: London, United Kingdom
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes I bought a 18000 book disc easily transfered from computer.
Customer avatar
by
merv
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes.. I have down loaded 2 so far, with out any trouble.
Customer avatar
by
Ann-Marie
Location: Shropshire
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Alhaurina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hello,
The NOOK Simple Touch only supports ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Jojo
Location: Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hi Jojo,
The Nook Simple Touch is currently only supplied in 2GB and with a black and white E-Ink screen.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 501/1283

Cash price £34.99 Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 39.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.