NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  501/1283
was £49.99 £34.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £15.00
NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Up to 56 days to pay

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

The clever Nook Simple Touch GlowLight allows you to read glare-free in the sunshine and late into the night with the easily adjustable lighting. Lose yourself in over 1 month of reading without having to re-charge and enjoy a customised experience with a choice of font styles and sizes.

E-reader features:

  • 6 inch e-ink touch screen.
  • Wi-Fi connectivity.
  • Stores 1000 books.
  • 2GB holds up to 1,000 eBooks (1GB for content, 750MB reserved for NOOK content).
  • Extra-long battery life lets you read for over 2 months with GlowLight off, 1 month with GlowLight on.
  • Comes with a MicroUSB cable and UK mains plug to charge your NOOK.
  • Charge time of 3.5 hours.
  • Battery life of 1344 hours.
  • Choose from 6 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.
  • Supported formats: ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.

General information:

  • Size H16.54, W12.66, D1.2cm.
  • Weight 197g.
  • EAN: 9781400501717.

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 39.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight. 4.6 5 217 222
Good e-reader This is a good e-reader but you can only get the books from barns and noble which is a pain as a lot of the books are cheaper elsewhere but other than that it's light and easy to use the glow light is a great featur and ideal when the other half complaine about the light being on in the bedroom at all hours now he never knows 02 September 2014
Very easy set up, good book selection to download ,not yet put battery life to the test , extremely pleased with product so far 26 August 2014
Quite nifty I bought this for my husband to take on holiday so books wouldn't weigh the cases down. We got the books onto it easily enough once we had downloaded the correct software to change formats as the Nook doesn't accept a lot of different formats. One thing I was extremely impressed about was the battery life. We charged it fully before we left. Two weeks later, after being used every day and never fully turned off, only left on standby, it had just under half the charge left. We were amazed! 26 August 2014
Trouble with the Nook When I purchased the Nook I thought it would be marvelous for accessing library books. I chose two books from the library and so far I have been unable to download them. I have no idea why I cannot get into them and no idea of where to go for help. The Nook does not give enough information on how to use the appliance for people unused to such technology. 21 August 2014
very good product I bought this for my wife and I'm thoroughly impressed. read in full sunlight (I am unable to with my Kindle Fire). you can down load books and I've been informed borrow library e-books. The back light makes it a really good ebook. 21 August 2014
Nook glowlight! Amazing!!! Fantastic product at amazing price. Very easy to set up and use. Fraction of the price of the kindle paperwhite but equally as good if not better as you can download free books from the library service. Would recommend to anyone!!! 19 August 2014
Kobo After my kindle fell in the bath and stopped working I decided to buy the kobo after reading the other reviews. I have to say it was easy to set up and was easy to use. I found downloading books easy and the glow light is fab as my other half can sleep while I read. I also found downloading books that had been given to me on a pen drive extremely easy to download onto device My opinion is buy, buy, buy no brainer 19 August 2014
Good value for money. 13 August 2014
Excellent Kindle alternative Really happy with the low cost Kindle alternative. The glow light works really well (something the bottom end Kindle doesn't have). Screen is excellent even in bright sun light. The only thing missing is a web browser but then an iPad would be more suitable for web browsing. 12 August 2014
Nook for Books Really delighted with every aspect, especially the freedom to download books from almost anywhere. The act of downloading is very well explained and it works! Comfortable to hold while reading and lettering on screen is very clear with no background glare. 12 August 2014
Great basic e-reader This was a great price and is very simple to set up and use. Excellent for taking on trains, holidays etc. Glowlight is handy for reading at night and the standard screen setting works perfectly in sunlight. Everything you need as fas as I'm concerned. Great that you can download books from your own online library facilities, which Kindle won't allow you to do, so this is better in my opinion. 11 August 2014
Nook e-reader Great value for money. Screen can be damaged easily so always protect. 29 July 2014
Love it I did my research and this was the best e-reader I could get for my budget as I needed a glow screen. I've used it so much and I'm really impressed at how easy it is. And I can borrow e-books from the library. Brilliant. 29 July 2014
nook simple touch glowlight ease of set up lots of free books from nook store only negative having to give credit card details even for free books 29 July 2014
Great! Easy to use, can read in sunlight or dark. Compatible with library. 29 July 2014
I love my new nook! I was slightly worried I would be compromising the quality because of the low price but so far everything is great. It's easy to use. The slim and light weight design makes it easy to fit in my handbag. The glowlight is perfect for reading in bed without disturbing my sleeping hubby next to me. The battery life seems to last forever and there are loads of books to buy/free from their online shop. I heard it's also compatible with library e-books (unlike a popular brand) I'm 100% happy with it. 22 July 2014
Simple to use It does what it says, very simple to set up and use. Looking forward to using it whilst on holiday. 17 July 2014
This product as ease of use This product was purchased for me as a gift. it does what it says on the tin. 13 July 2014
so far so good Have bought this to replace my Cybook which was rather tricky to tame. Books loaded quickly, but yet to really use it properly. 08 July 2014
Nook Excellent. Exceeds expectations. Nice compact And easy to down load 08 July 2014
<<< Previous 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next >>>
(35 Questions | 46 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it come alredy registered

1 month, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Ronaldo
Location: London
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Ronaldo.

Thanks for your question.

I'm sorry but I'm not sure what you mean by your question. The Glowlight will need configuring for your own personal needs but that won't be complex.

Hope that helps but if not please message back and we will endeavour to help you -
Customer avatar
by
Mel @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
I'm thinking of buying this for my dad but as he has no wifi it needs to connect to his computer to download.
Customer avatar
by
Sapphie
Location: Somerset, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

6 Answer(s)

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes, you just plug it into your computer and can download books and other things from various ebook websites
Customer avatar
by
Crocus
Location: Faringdon
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes the usb allows you to download books, but I have been told you can use your library to download too, I cannot say if this is true or not, but you could look into that, in your area.
Customer avatar
by
Lesley
Location: Pontefract
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes you can use a USB cable to download e-books. I buy e-books from Sainsbury's and once the book has been down loaded to my laptop I can then use the USB cable that came with my NOOK to connect the two and then transfer from laptop to NOOK, easy.
Customer avatar
by
Cookie 626
Location: Fife, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
The USB connection allows you to put books onto the device.

From Nook, these have to be purchased over the air and installed via Wifi. But if you have already purchased the files or borrowed from library you just copy over. Takes a few mins.
Customer avatar
by
Steve
Location: London, United Kingdom
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes I bought a 18000 book disc easily transfered from computer.
Customer avatar
by
merv
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes.. I have down loaded 2 so far, with out any trouble.
Customer avatar
by
Ann-Marie
Location: Shropshire
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Alhaurina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hello,
The NOOK Simple Touch only supports ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Jojo
Location: Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hi Jojo,
The Nook Simple Touch is currently only supplied in 2GB and with a black and white E-Ink screen.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 501/1283

Cash price £34.99 Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 39.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.