NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  501/1283
was £49.99 £29.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £20.00
NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Up to 56 days to pay

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

The clever Nook Simple Touch GlowLight allows you to read glare-free in the sunshine and late into the night with the easily adjustable lighting. Lose yourself in over 1 month of reading without having to re-charge and enjoy a customised experience with a choice of font styles and sizes.

E-reader features:

  • 6 inch e-ink touch screen.
  • Wi-Fi connectivity.
  • Stores 1000 books.
  • 2GB holds up to 1,000 eBooks (1GB for content, 750MB reserved for NOOK content).
  • Extra-long battery life lets you read for over 2 months with GlowLight off, 1 month with GlowLight on.
  • Comes with a MicroUSB cable and UK mains plug to charge your NOOK.
  • Charge time of 3.5 hours.
  • Battery life of 1344 hours.
  • Choose from 6 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.
  • Supported formats: ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.

General information:

  • Size H16.54, W12.66, D1.2cm.
  • Weight 197g.
  • EAN: 9781400501717.

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 34.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight. 4.6 5 217 222
Excellent and versatile ebook reader If you're looking for an alternative to the Kindle Paperwhite, and being locked in to one retailer and one file format, this is it. Internal memory is expandable so this can hold thousands of books, and though the backlight is a bit wimpy, it works well enough for reading in the dark. Ink is crisp to view and I can load ePub books on to this to my heart's content. Try that with a Kindle! Oh, and this is a great price. With free delivery, what's not to like? 14 October 2014
Excellent product, excellent price I bought this to replace one that had been water damaged beyond repair, so I knew what I was getting. I think this particular Nook has been superceded by a more expensive model, but this one cost £49, less than half what I paid for the original one less than two years ago. As an e-reader it is fine, and the glowlight function means you can still read if the light is not so good. Overall, a good buy. 14 October 2014
very light and easy to use would really recommend this especially at the new low price, plenty of storage for the average user, very easy to use and nice and light, love that you can read it absolutely anywhere, glow light means that you can read in bed without disturbing your partner and you really can read this in bright sunlight as well. 09 October 2014
my new books i love the nook so light to carry great on holiday as can read at any angle and in the sun books easy to download from computer ,plus great value for money .The glowlight is great while on plane as can read without putting any other light on plus in your bed no disturbing your partner with lights 08 October 2014
Derek Very good buy. good price. good quality. good all round. Hghly recommend.Excellent access to books etc. 07 October 2014
handy reader My first impressions are good. It will take some time to assess the usefulness of the features, but so far I am happy that the reader suits the purpose. Easy to read and the backlight is a bonus and a handy feature. 07 October 2014
nook simple touch stunning visability on holiday when husband sleeping in and me awake at 5am 07 October 2014
Excellent product Easy to use loads of options. 07 October 2014
Absolutely perfect e-book reader! 07 October 2014
just perfect a light and so easy to use ebook reader especially as you can get so many books free as well even from the nook web site. My eye sight is not good so this is perfect for me and would highly recommend to all out there who are thinking of perchasing one better even than the other well nown brand much lighter and not so restricted would give it the full 5***** plus 10/10 thanks argos and of course Nook 30 September 2014
great value for money. feels very light. glowing light - excellent feature 30 September 2014
so easy Makes sure you get the best offers when you see them and saves you the trouble of going to the outlets to check if an item is in stock. 24 September 2014
I Love This As Much As An Actual Book I got the Nook about 3 weeks ago, so I could borrow books from the library, as I believe you cannot do that with some other readers. Like another reviewer said, it`s a bit of a palaver getting the software downloaded onto your pc, but once you`ve done that, it is pretty simple, and worth it. It`s so easy to read under any lighting conditions. Only cloud on the horizon is that the battery seems to be running down a little faster than they say in the manual, but it`s too soon to be sure. 16 September 2014
still finding my way around but so far so good! This product offers good value for money 16 September 2014
excellent A great way to read a book. This was a present for my husband on his birthday (over 50!) because he kept borrowing mine!! He didn't put itt down for the first three evenings. Lots of choice and can read any e.Pub book: Also library loans with adobe digital editions. Can increase storage by inserting SD card. 10 September 2014
Good Product, Rubbish Customer Support I've no doubt that if I was able to get the Nook to work properly, it may be a good product. It appeared to do what an eReader should be capable of, but unfortunately my experience of their customer support was non existant. I waited 3 days for a response from web and email contact with their customer support team, and I'm still waiting for that response 2 weeks later. Needless to say I considered the product faulty and returned for a refund. I've now bought and recommend the Kindle Paperwhite. 10 September 2014
A brilliant e reader. Easy to use. Long battery life. 09 September 2014
Easy Ereader My first "gadget" and I am quite pleased. Easy to navigate around it and very light to carry. The on/off switch on the back is a bit of a pain if you keep it in a case. 05 September 2014
Met my expectations I have used a "Simple Touch" for a long time and this was an upgrade. At the Argos price, I am very pleased. 03 September 2014
Does exactly what it says on the box very good value for money works very well 02 September 2014
<<< Previous2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next >>>
(35 Questions | 46 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does it come alredy registered

2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ronaldo
Location: London
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 month, 4 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Ronaldo.

Thanks for your question.

I'm sorry but I'm not sure what you mean by your question. The Glowlight will need configuring for your own personal needs but that won't be complex.

Hope that helps but if not please message back and we will endeavour to help you -
Customer avatar
by
Mel @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
I'm thinking of buying this for my dad but as he has no wifi it needs to connect to his computer to download.
Customer avatar
by
Sapphie
Location: Somerset, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

6 Answer(s)

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes, you just plug it into your computer and can download books and other things from various ebook websites
Customer avatar
by
Crocus
Location: Faringdon
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes the usb allows you to download books, but I have been told you can use your library to download too, I cannot say if this is true or not, but you could look into that, in your area.
Customer avatar
by
Lesley
Location: Pontefract
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes you can use a USB cable to download e-books. I buy e-books from Sainsbury's and once the book has been down loaded to my laptop I can then use the USB cable that came with my NOOK to connect the two and then transfer from laptop to NOOK, easy.
Customer avatar
by
Cookie 626
Location: Fife, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
The USB connection allows you to put books onto the device.

From Nook, these have to be purchased over the air and installed via Wifi. But if you have already purchased the files or borrowed from library you just copy over. Takes a few mins.
Customer avatar
by
Steve
Location: London, United Kingdom
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes I bought a 18000 book disc easily transfered from computer.
Customer avatar
by
merv
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 year ago
Answer: 
Yes.. I have down loaded 2 so far, with out any trouble.
Customer avatar
by
Ann-Marie
Location: Shropshire
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Alhaurina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hello,
The NOOK Simple Touch only supports ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Jojo
Location: Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 year ago
Answer: 
Hi Jojo,
The Nook Simple Touch is currently only supplied in 2GB and with a black and white E-Ink screen.
Thanks for using Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Rachel @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 501/1283

Cash price £29.99 Please note item 5011283 has previously been on sale at 34.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.