Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  166/3697
was £69.99 £49.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £20.00 1 Special Offer
Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player.
pdp_socialmediamain

Technology Summary


Up to 56 days to pay

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Technology Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Enjoy rich, deep colour and lifelike detail with the Sony BDP-S1200. This Blu-ray player not only faithfully reproduces HD quality pictures, but also gives you access to a wide range of apps through the Sony Entertainment Network, such as Youtube, Netflix and Lovefilm. Plus you can watch Xvid and MPEG-4 content stored on USB devices.

Blu-ray and DVD player

  • Upscales to 1080p.
  • Smart TV .
  • Playback and sound: DVD, Blu-ray.
  • DTS HD and Dolby True HD decoding.

Connectivity:

  • 1 HDMI port.
  • 1 USB port.
  • Ethernet port.

General information:

  • Remote control batteries required 2 x AAA (included).
  • Size H2.8, W11.9, D10.8cm.
  • Weight 0.9kg.
  • On mode power consumption 8.8 watts.
  • Standby power consumption 0.2 watt.

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 1663697 has previously been on sale at 59.00.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Special Offers

1)  Half Price Belkin HDMI when bougth with selected TVs, DVD Players, Blu Ray Players, Set Top Boxes, Sound Bars and TV Recorders. Offer ends 16 January 2015.

Belkin HDMI Cable - 1m.
162/8649
£24.99
Belkin HDMI Cable - 1m.
 (7)
+
Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player.
166/3697
£49.99 Was £69.99 Save £20.00
Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player.
 (7)
+ 1 special offer
= from £62.48

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player. 4.6 5 31 32
A great add on for my Sony Bravia TV The extra capabilities over a DVD player are extraordinary 09 September 2014
Great Features Brilliant, glad we bought it, small, lightweight and compact 30 August 2014
great product i am so glad I bought this,i did look at the reviews which is what swayed me to get it as well as the name,so easy to use,so quick to learn how to use it too,i did have to buy an Ethernet cable so I can get online with it but that I didn't mind,i would recommend this to everyone. 27 August 2014
Great features This is a great player for its size and looks. Reproduction of all discs is excellent. 19 August 2014
a great compact blu-ray player I bought this blu-ray player to complement my new Sony W7 LED TV. Compared to old style blu-ray & DVD players, the S1200 is a surprisingly compact and discreet unit, smartly designed and with a good specification. Whilst it looks quite small, the player still performs very well displaying a sharp, vibrant picture from an HD or upscaled source without looking artificial or oversaturated. The player also starts up more quickly in comparison to an old player that I have. The cross-compatibility of Sony devices and remote controls also make life easier. When paired with my Sony W7 TV, the S1200 creates smooth and highly detailed images which look natural from the deepest blacks to bright white, giving a natural picture that makes documentaries and movies just as enjoyable as being at the cinema if not more so. Considering the price I paid for it and it's specification & performance, I don't think I can really criticise anything about the player and would recommend it to friends and family. 18 August 2014
Light and easy A very compact and effective player with the usual access features expected from a Sony. Very good value. 17 August 2014
Great Value Little Player! This is a small, neat unit. As others have commented, the top is slightly pyramid shaped for effect, so don't bank on standing something on top of it. Picture quality on Blu-Ray is excellent, and it's a smart player too, so you can get content online if you can wire it to your router (either direct or via AVmains plug). Dead easy to set up, and if you look up the full instructions online, you can programme another make of TV to switch on/off, mute and swap input modes via the Blu-ray remote!! 13 August 2014
Excellent, able to use internet streaming apps Bought this after I tried the Samsung smart version, which was very poor software. Beauty is that the menus and like the ps3. One issue it's noisy. 11 August 2014
great product brought this product to replace my old unit so glad i did fantastic 08 August 2014
brilliant Bought the bluray and it has been great so far. At least I can watch bluray now 07 August 2014
Excellent DVD Player I bought the Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray Disc player a couple of weeks ago and I'm delighted with it. Great bonus have iPlayer, Netflix and Youtube available on it. 02 August 2014
Small but Powerful and Positive-Full marks ! This compact Blu-Ray Player by Sony is brilliant and reliable in all functions. Bought to replace a other brand Blu-Ray player that I 'd had to scrap for poor build and performance. Easy to set up, including linking to Internet. Responds super fast to the Video Remote. It's Menu sets out options very clearly and is so easy to follow. Like all very good applications - an Owner does not need to consult a Manual really, using the Sony Blue Ray player is instinctive. Especially I appreciate the fact it reads my huge collection downloaded YouTube videos in VLC media .flv format in best HD on my T.V Thank you - Sony 01 August 2014
Simple and light I bought this for our bedroom. It doesn't take up much space and is very light if you want it on a shelf 01 August 2014
Excellent blueray player, but unfortunetly i thought it was wireless and its not so i had to buy a separate cable to be able to use the smart features. Other than that, all good. 31 July 2014
Easy to put up light small and compact! Love it! 10 June 2014
2D blu-Ray Player with some Smart Features I bought this Blu-ray player about 1 month ago. Easy to unbox and easy to setup. It supports video ranges right up to 1080p. A few points to note:- 1) This is the 2D model. 2) It does not have built-in WiFi - you either connect to the internet via a Cat5 network lead (search the 'net' as there are some good prices), or you have to plug a WiFi dongle into the USB port of the front of the machine. 3) This does not come with a HDMI lead, and there's not SCART socket either. (again search the 'net' as I found a very good price for a HDMI lead). 4) This Blu-Ray player comes with some Smart Features - that is it can connect to Internet TV sites, including BBC iPlayer, Netflix, Amazon Prime, and of course the Sony Entertainment Network. I have tested the S.E.N. and a few others that are included, as this device uses the Opera Web browser, I feel that it is slow at start-up when connecting to a I.T.V. site and a couple of times I've had buffering / connection failures (I'm on F.T.T.C. with a 40/10 Mbps connection). In all very happy with the fairly cheap Blu-ray player. 09 June 2014
class act just does a superb job easy to use looks fab excellent value for money 07 June 2014
Exactly what it says on the box. Great performance Superb product that works perfectly with the Sony TV we bought at the same time. 05 June 2014
Fantastic I got this for a 78 year old and he loves it as he no longer needs to press "source" on his tv. Great for those who are a bit technophobic. 03 June 2014
Great bit of kit Great bang for buck player, well worth the money.. 02 June 2014
(21 Questions | 20 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
1 day ago
Customer avatar
by
pigeon
Location: lymena
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
LADY K
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Chris
Location: Cornwall, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 day ago
Answer: 
Hi,

Yes, the Sony BDP-S1200 can play play MKV files from a USB stick.

Have a good day.
Customer avatar
by
Amy @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 week ago
Does it have APPS for BBC, ITV, Channel 4 Channel 5 etc.
Customer avatar
by
RobLincs
Location: Hanthorpe, Bourne, Lincolnshire PE10, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 Next >>>
2 3 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 166/3697

Cash price £49.99 Please note item 1663697 has previously been on sale at 59.00.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Delivery charge - from £3.95 Order now for delivery within 2 days

Monday - Friday between 7am and 8pm. Next day no additional charge. Saturday no additional charge. Order before 5pm for Next day delivery. Saturday between 7am and 6pm.You only pay one delivery charge per order. If ordering several items, it will be the highest of the individual charges, no matter how many additional items you order.

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.