Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  166/3697
was £69.99 £64.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £5.00
Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player.
pdp_socialmediamain

Technology Summary


Buy now, pay 3 Months later or Up to 56 days to pay

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Technology Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Enjoy rich, deep colour and lifelike detail with the Sony BDP-S1200. This Blu-ray player not only faithfully reproduces HD quality pictures, but also gives you access to a wide range of apps through the Sony Entertainment Network, such as Youtube, Netflix and Lovefilm. Plus you can watch Xvid and MPEG-4 content stored on USB devices.

Blu-ray and DVD player

  • Upscales to 1080p.
  • Smart TV .
  • Playback and sound: DVD, Blu-ray.
  • DTS HD and Dolby True HD decoding.

Connectivity:

  • 1 HDMI port.
  • 1 USB port.
  • Ethernet port.

General information:

  • Remote control batteries required 2 x AAA (included).
  • Size H2.8, W11.9, D10.8cm.
  • Weight 0.9kg.
  • On mode power consumption 8.8 watts.
  • Standby power consumption 0.2 watt.

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 1663697 has previously been on sale at 49.00.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player. 4.7 5 75 76
Disappointed to realise it's not wifi! Lovely little dvd/blu ray player at a great price but I was very disappointed to realise I can't use the smart features without buying additional equipment (which isn't cheap) as it's not wifi. 22 January 2015
Small and stylish Very compact and very easy to use. So much better than older DVD players. 22 January 2015
Blu-ray Disc player ! We bought this Sony Blu - ray player for 3 reasons it was cheap , it had good reviews on various sites and finally after looking in stores and online it became apparent to us that the majority of Blu ray films are no more expensive than regular DVDs but deliver a much better picture ! If you have seen a high definition movie or television program there is an obvious difference it's not a sales gimmick as I once thought Blu ray is a superior picture :) 20 January 2015
Ideal for my needs I bought this to replace and old blue ray player and it is great. 20 January 2015
Great Product We bought this after Christmas as wanted to watch a blu ray film and our old DVD was ready to be replaced 17 January 2015
One of the best blu ray players for the price Bought this for Christmas. I am really happy with the product. It does everything you need and its very quiet. Picture and. Sound quality is excellent.The remote should be a bit better quality, larger with more buttons. Another thing it does not have optical output but only coaxial exit but for the price is understandable I guess. Sony have done a really good job with these blue ray models depending on price the more you get. Highly Recommended. 15 January 2015
I'm thinking of buying another one This was a Christmas present, worthwhile, does the job 15 January 2015
Super Smart Sony Sleek, stylish and silent when running. Very easy to set up and start watching. May be a bit childish but it's such fun to switch languages via the audio button. Great product at a reasonable price. 14 January 2015
It's a smart bluray/DVDs player It does what it says on the box, mostly. Could do a better job with old 4:3 DVDs. 11 January 2015
Great Features, Great Value Bought to replace existing DVD only player which it more than amply outshines. Very easy to set up and equally easy to use. I always look to Sony first before considering any other brand. Rarely have I been disappointed. 09 January 2015
User friendly Bought this player to replace an old dvd hard drive player which did not play blue ray or have HDMI 08 January 2015
Very pleased with this purchase, excellent value I bought this Blu-ray player to play DVDs and and Blu-Ray discs. I am very pleased with the picture quality for both. I have not tried any of the internet features as I use my TV for these. 08 January 2015
simple to use and simple to install 06 January 2015
Good features Received as an Xmas present. Easy to set up and use. Still plays older DVDS RW discs. Excellent Blue Ray. 06 January 2015
Does what is says....no more, no less. This item has the excellent Sony quality we expect but the operating system is not so good. The controls resemble those of the very earliest DVD players, so as a 'smart' Blu-ray it is a little disappointing. For example, the fast forward speeds are either uncontrollably fast or excruciatingly slow, no in-between. I would have hoped for less basic DVD playing functions. However, the operation is fast and responsive and the quality is shown by the fact the disc does not heat up at all, ever, with safety functions to prevent disc hot spots. Picture quality is excellent. So overall, great quality mechanically but with an out of date UI. I haven't much experience of the 'smart functions' so can't comment on them other than to repeat the UI is very dated. 05 January 2015
Sony Blueray player Great Sony Blueray and very easy to use. 30 December 2014
Breaking Good To be honest I only purchased this item so that I could get Netflix on my tv and in this respect I'm absolutely delighted with it. I've not used it as a blu-ray player yet. Easy to set up and use and has a number of other online channels like You Tube. 30 December 2014
Compact Bought this to go with our Bravia TV. Impressed with the small size of the unit. It could do with a better LED to show it is switched on, as our unit is low down and the light does not show. Otherwise the player is perfect for us. 15 December 2014
An excellent product I purchased this player last month and am very pleased I did so 09 December 2014
Smart Blu ray player simple to intal and initial set up. Also easy to use 26 November 2014
(31 Questions | 33 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
5 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Bonnie
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

4 days ago
Answer: 
Cant really answer this question as it depends on the sound bar inputs.
My set up is HDMI from Blueray to Sony TV then Optical connection from TV to Sony soundbar.
Customer avatar
by
rnrman
Location: Totton, Hampshire, UK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Will this Machine play MP4 discs

2 weeks, 2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Sherrilucas
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks, 1 day ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The Sony BDP-S1200 Smart Blu-ray and DVD player has a USB port for playing MP4 files.

Hope this helps.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Ethernet cable?

3 weeks ago
I understand this unit requires an ethernet connection to enable use of the apps. Can you recommend a suitable cable from the argos catalogue that will connect this unit to a Sky Hub? Thanks.
Customer avatar
by
Mark
Location: Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks, 5 days ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The Belkin Cat5e UTP Assembled Patch Ethernet Cable - 5m (108/1877) will be suitable.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Katie@Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

will this machine play multi-region discs

1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Martin
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
4 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Martin,

I can confirm that this DVD player is region 2 only.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Adam @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 Next >>>
2 3 4 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 166/3697

Cash price £64.99 Please note item 1663697 has previously been on sale at 49.00.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Delivery charge - from £3.95 Order now for delivery within 2 days

Monday - Friday between 7am and 8pm. Next day no additional charge. Saturday no additional charge. Order before 5pm for Next day delivery. Saturday between 7am and 6pm.You only pay one delivery charge per order. If ordering several items, it will be the highest of the individual charges, no matter how many additional items you order.

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.