Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  162/3895

Choose a colour

Red 1623895
colourPickerBubble1
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.

Red - £89.99

Black 1665420
colourPickerBubble2
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
pdp_socialmediamain

Technology Summary


Buy now, pay 3 Months later or Up to 56 days to pay

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Technology Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.

Model number SX170 IS

Product specification:

  • 16 megapixels.
  • 16x optical zoom.
  • 32x digital zoom.
  • 28-448mmmm wide angle lens.
  • 3in LCD screen.
  • Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.
  • Image stabilisation.
  • Red eye reduction.
  • PictBridge compatible.

Features:

  • 720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.
  • Maximum ISO 1600.
  • Intelligent scene mode.
  • Self timer.
  • Built-in flash.

Memory card compatability:

  • SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.

General information:

  • Size H7.2, W11.1cm.
  • Weight 291g.
  • Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).
  • Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).
  • Colour: red.
  • Includes carry strap.

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Special Offers

1)  Save ⅓ on SanDisk Extreme HD memory card when bought with this camera. Offer ends 16 January 2015.

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
162/3895
£89.99
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
 (266)
+ 4 special offers
+
Choose from 4 products
= from £103.32 Choose products

2)  Save ⅓ on SanDisk Ultra SDHC memory card when bought with this camera. Offer ends 16 January 2015.

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
162/3895
£89.99
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
 (266)
+ 4 special offers
+
Choose from 4 products
= from £99.98 Choose products

3)  Save ⅓ on the Canon DCC750 case when bought with the Canon SX170 Camera. Offer ends 16 January 2015.

Canon DCC-750 PowerShot Camera Case - Black.
198/5430
£14.99 Was £17.99 Save £3.00
Canon DCC-750 PowerShot Camera Case - Black.
 (34)
+
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
162/3895
£89.99
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
 (266)
+ 4 special offers
= Save £5.00 £99.98

4)  Get ⅓ off the Canon DCC1320 case when bought with the Canon Powershot SX170 camera. Offer ends 16 January 2015.

Canon DCC950 Camera Case - Black.
108/3143
£29.99
Canon DCC950 Camera Case - Black.
 (18)
+
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
162/3895
£89.99
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
 (266)
+ 4 special offers
= Save £10.00 £109.98

Customer reviews and ratings

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red. 4.7 5 261 266
Cracking camera! This camera was bought for holiday use and was fantastic! Having an SLR it was really nice to be able to just whip the camera out and snap! It's lovely looking, compact and very easy to use. Found it a bit strange lifting the flash flap manually but the screen reminds you to do it which I found helpful. There's not many settings but using the automatic setting was good. Has some lovely unexpected features such as fisheye too! All in all a basic, easy to use brilliant camera. You can't go wrong! 16 September 2014
Cannon Powershot SX170 Good, compact, excellent zoom and clarity. Well recommended. 09 September 2014
Sturdy no frills camera I use this as work camera so wanted it to be robust. Whilst it will not win prizes for speed or features it is easy to use and picture quality is good. The body is chunky and slightly heavy but has survived several knocks. 19 October 2014
A very good camera A well balanced product. Excellent features, easy to handle and a good range in the menu. Quality throughout the product a very good buy. 27 August 2014
Power Shot Camera Great light weight camera, fantastic zoom, very easy to use even my five year old can take photos. Photos come out brilliant. 27 August 2014
Just what i needed. I bought this for my upcoming holiday to Disney World Florida, after a trial run of the camera it seems to be just what i needed, the pictures are of good quality, the settings are easy to grasp and the different picture settings are useful especially as I'm wanting to get some good ones of the fireworks and other nighttime pictures. The only downside is the sound seems to be a little on the quite side. Other than that the video quality itself is good. Can't wait to use it on holiday! 08 October 2014
Excellent purchase This camera but has some excellent features, and I particularly like the 16X zoom, which was my main requirement. Focus can blur when moving up to maximum zoom, but that's only for a moment or two.So far I've only used auto settings, but you can choose manual settings The wrist-strap is incredibly fiddly to attach; I had to use dental floss. Can't think why Canon don't either attach it or re-design the attachment point! There's no USB cable supplied. This camera is excellent value for money. 07 October 2014
This product is an excellent camera Really good easy to use and feature packed. Picture quality is brilliant and would definitely recommend. My only issue is that the FPS is very slow. 30 September 2014
canon powershot sx170 really pleased with it so far, not learnt all the settings yet, but practicing! its an easy camera to hold, the settings give you a quick idea of what feature to use. nice and light, a good buy. 16 September 2014
Camera canon powershot sx170 16mp Bought for my special needs son was able to use the camera within the hour Good value 16 September 2014
Great camera I bought this camera for my wife as were going on holiday to New York. The first thing that struck me as I took it out the box was the quality and feel of the camera, it feels like a small SLR. We're now on holiday and had a chance to use the camera and we have been impressed with the quality of the pictures and my wife has been happily snapping away. The features are also very good allowing you to add differant effects to your pictures. This has been a great purchase for the price I paid, 16 September 2014
easy to carry and easy to use After reading the reviews I bought this camera at the last minute to take on holiday. I didn't have time to download the instruction manual so mainly used AUTO and a bit of trial and error to take photos but really pleased with the results. Looking forward to learning how to use the camera properly. 14 September 2014
Brilliant! Birthday present for 15yr old daughter - she is very pleased with this camera. It has so many features/modes and the picture quality is excellent. Good size but maybe a little heavier than some other cameras. Hundreds of photos and hours of video taken on recent holiday (bought with 32GB memory card). 10 September 2014
Canon camera Simple to use well made very good camera 09 September 2014
great buy with this camera i am able to take pictures of creatures / objects i can hardly see with naked eye thanks to the great zoom features and yet still fits in pocket 27 August 2014
This product is easy to use. This product comes with a very basic 'get you started' instruction booklet, but you have to download the full version(72 pages!) to get the best out of the product. Ideally there should be an option to purchase the full instructions as a booklet. 27 August 2014
ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM This camera is the best so far for the price ,The zoom is absolutely great ,its easy to use .Canon has impressed me so far ,You don't get a usb cable but that's my preference ,a little heavy but quality at its best . 27 August 2014
Very very impressed! Love this camera, after having my DSLR stolen, and no money to pay for a new one this is the perfect downgrade. I've taken it to festivals and it really gives you the flexibility to be creative with your images. Such good value for the money. Really cannot fault it! 27 August 2014
fantastic little camera! this little (but powerful) camera is brilliant. Best I have ever used - pictures fantastic - so easy to use - handy pocket size - and goes everywhere with me. I am so pleased to have purchased this one....thank you Canon. 26 August 2014
great holiday snaps Compact camera with powerful optic zoom. Used it on holiday on auto settings with very good results. 26 August 2014
<<< Previous2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>
(4 Questions | 9 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 weeks, 3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
****
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks, 2 days ago
Answer: 
Hi,

The Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera includes the required battery and a charger.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Katie@Argos
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
 
1 answer

How long does the battery last? Or is it rechargable?

3 weeks, 2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Mummsie
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 weeks, 2 days ago
Answer: 
Hello there,

The battery is rechargeable.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Harri @ Argos
Gender: Female
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
 
1 answer

what is the maxium GB SD card this camera will take ?

Customer avatar
by
chriso
Location: Cannock, Staffordshire, UK
3 weeks, 4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
chriso
Location: Cannock, Staffordshire, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi,

There is no limit on the maximum GB SD card the Canon PowerShot SX170 will take. Such a restriction is generally only on tablets and phones which are more expensive the greater their storage capacity. This isn't the case with digital photography equipment.

Have a good day.
Customer avatar
by
Amy @ Argos
Location: Acton Gate
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
 
6 answers

Does the Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP camera come with a USB cable for transfering pictures to a computer?

Customer avatar
by
Amfopo
Location: Balham, London SW12, UK
5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Amfopo
Location: Balham, London SW12, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

6 Answer(s)

5 months ago
Answer: 
No. But coincidently it has the same port as my phone . We remove the SD card then plug the SD card into computer and it works.
Customer avatar
by
Abdun
Location: Bolton, U.K.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

5 months ago
Answer: 
No
Customer avatar
by
Callum
Location: London
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

5 months ago
Answer: 
Hi Amfopo, and thanks for your question.
The Canon PowerShot SX170 Digital Camera does not come with a USB cable in the box.
You can either transfer your images from your SD card via an SD card slot if your PC has one, or purchase the best USB cable for your needs.
I hope this answers your question.
Customer avatar
by
Canon Product Specialist
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

5 months ago
Answer: 
Yes it does but if you have a PC with a card reader it is easier to just pop the SD card in there instead
Customer avatar
by
RJBGolfer
Location: Down, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

5 months ago
Answer: 
No but it requires a fairly standard lead which we already had. I usually use a USB SD card adapter anyway.
Customer avatar
by
Paul
Location: Ceredigion
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

5 months ago
Answer: 
Yes it does. It is a common cable type used by many devices.
Customer avatar
by
littlefatbloke
Location: Cleveland
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 162/3895

Cash price £89.99

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.