Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£99.99
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£29.99 Was £44.99 Save 1/3
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 381 394
this television has very good spec We found this TV very easy to use , with a dongle it connected to our wifi which our son at 2 years old loves as the YouTube kids nursery rhymes are mahoosive . catch up TV is a good feature too . over all we are well pleased . 17 June 2014
Great TV for the money I bought this TV as a present for my daughter but I would have no hesitation buying one for myself when my current TV packs in. I'm no expert in TV's but this TV appears excellent value for money. It does everything it needs to do as well as looking and sounding good. An added bonus for me, being a techno dumb dumb, was the ease in setting it up. Simply plug it in, turn it on and it sets itself up. Easy Peasy 17 June 2014
Easy set up for tv and internet. Fantastic TV. Easy set up and great internet access. Price was very good. Some reviews said sound quality was not great but I find this was not true. Sound and picture excellent. 17 June 2014
Could be better Difficult to connect to sound bar , can only really use headphone socket , this cuts out internal speakers , so sound bar has to be one whenever you watch TV . 17 June 2014
Not too bad Disappointed I cannot download more apps 17 June 2014
Excellent value for money This TV has everything that you need for good quality viewing and selection. The features are easy to follow and are up-to-date with full HD and Smart Apps. You can also catch up with things that you missed, with BBCiplayer, You Tube, Skype, Internet. It is the best priced TV that I've seen with all these features. 17 June 2014
ex for the price Easy to set up, looks good- sound could be a little better 17 June 2014
Sound very poor My biggest complaint is the sound quality. I have to turn it to maximum to hear ordinary programmes, and the older ones on Gold, or DVDs are so quiet they are impossible to watch. Very disappointed with this. Picture not as sharp as my old set either, which was an LG. Wish I hadn;t changed it now, but I wanted a bigger TV. 17 June 2014
Very good value! Compared the market around the price and features of various televisions and found this to be very competitive on both particularly for a branded product. The purchase process from Argos was flawless! 17 June 2014
LG 42 inch smart TV Good quality picture and sound. Easy to setup and start using. 17 June 2014
Great tv at a super price! Excellent value tv, great picture and sound. Thoroughly recommend . 17 June 2014
Hitachi HXT12U 42 inch nice light weight tv, bit fiddly getting the connectons in once it was up on the wall but am very pleased with it so far but it has only been up a day. I had a friend come and fit it so I didn't actually tune it in etc but it only took him about 2 hours to wall mount it and tune it in so not bad at all, am very pleased for the price I paid I think it was a bargain! 16 June 2014
The Best Value Smart TV on the market Everything I could write would be positive, so take my review as a recommendation. 11 June 2014
Excellent screen Very good picture and features. Sound quality as expected not as good and will be getting some external speakers soon. 11 June 2014
Brilliant Reserved online after deciding we could do with a slightly bigger tv. Didn't realise quite how big it would be in comparison to the one it was to replace but we are delighted with the picture, sound and how easy it was to set up. Fantastic value for money too 10 June 2014
sleek design.price.plenty of features decent smart apps. 10 June 2014
Great tv would recommend, Great price too for a 42in. 10 June 2014
hitachi HXT12U 42nfull HD 1080p pricewise brilliant couldn't have asked for more it was more than I expected for the cost so I wasn't disappointed would recommend to people to buy this television as a pensioner I have to be careful with my money so I am well satisfied 10 June 2014
excellent picture quality Bought this tv due to excellent price,has a very good picture quality,very easy FREEVIEW set up and looks good.I do not tie up my TV with computer so cannot comment on apps&wi fi etc. deff recommend! 10 June 2014
does what it says on the tin would recommend this product and service to anyone. 10 June 2014
<<< Previous 6 7 8 9 10 ... 20 Next >>>
(188 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
5 days ago
Customer avatar
by
roy Meredith
Location: Liverpool
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
1 answer

will not go online

1 week ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

6 days ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

1 week, 6 days ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

2 weeks, 1 day ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 week, 3 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 week, 3 days ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.