Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£74.99 Was £99.99 Save 25%
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£44.99
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 382 395
Good TV Very happy with this tv. Looks great and is simple to set up. Only issue is that you have to have the volume up very high, as the sound is very low on the set. I assume that is because Hitachi want you to buy the sound bar, but it is not a problem. I have already recommended this to a friend. 08 July 2014
hitachi tv excellent value for money ,had no problems with set etc ,picture as you would expect from a top tv maker ,would recommend 08 July 2014
Best value 42" HDTV This must be the best value 42" HD Freeview TV' picture quality is excellent. 08 July 2014
42 inch Bought as replacement for my dad . Was cheap for 42 inch and the tv being a smart tv was a bonus . Easy to setup for fb and e mail 08 July 2014
excellent tv heard about some problems that other people had with the sound, but that soon went when i switched it on, the sound is no problem at all very loud and clear ,easy to set up. 08 July 2014
tv Very happy good tv for money 08 July 2014
Outstanding performance Brilliant colour screen great built in apps overall happy 04 July 2014
Excellent Value We are really pleased with this TV. It's nice looking and easy to use. I love watching my fave You Tube clips on the big screen. Excellent value for money. 03 July 2014
Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD 1080p FVHD LED TV + S Easy to set up, Great picture quality.TV a little thicker than realized. Overall really happy with it. 02 July 2014
Great value I wanted a 42" tv so looked around online and this one was on ther the price was fair and with the added bonus of the smart app feature it seemed a no brainer... I read a few reviews and one thing that kept being mentioned was poor sound quality but I thought the price and features outweighed the fact it may have poor sound, but after I purchased the tv I found that the sound wasn't actually that bad I'd give 8/10 overall 01 July 2014
Excellent for the price On the whole I'm impressed with this TV. Picture quality's good, sound's good, easy to set up, easy to use. One drawback is when you have the Programme Guide on, the sound goes so you can't listen to whatever you're watching. 01 July 2014
A quality picture I read reviews before purchase and most comments were on sound. I'm happy with the sound it is not as bad as the comments were, picture is better and light wight TV. I didn't need anybody to help to carry it to 2nd floor. 01 July 2014
Ms My old Tv broke down the night before the England game at the beginning of the World Cup. Didn't rush into it..had a look to see what was about. Great picture, easy to set up, Smart features easy to get going. All in all...a bargain for what I paid for it. Would recommend to anyone 01 July 2014
Poor sound quality Great tv but sound quality is poor. Sounds tinny and if you have the volume slightly higher then normal it buzzes. Wouldn't recommend buying it. Spend your money on a different one! 01 July 2014
My Smart TV I was really pleased with this television. For the price I paid it was surprisingly good quality. Sound is fine, picture great. Just loved it. Also managed to fit a dongle so the smart part of the tv is up and running too. My brother heard about my purchase and went out and bought one himself, that's how good it is and he is also very happy with it. Watching football and the tennis on this screen is just fabulous. 01 July 2014
First class value for money TV This TV was very easy to connect, I just plugged in the Humax HD PVR using the HDMI lead and away to go. I didn't even bother to tune the TV itself as I always watch via PVR. It is a very pleasing design with a thin surround on the outside of the screen. I get full HD via roof aerial because I use a Humax HD PVR, so picture quality is very good. There have been some bad reviews concerning sound quality, I did not find this at all. Overall a very good value for money TV. 01 July 2014
hitachi hxt12u42in t.v i bought this tv for the smart app, as i just had broadband installed i saw that argos had this tv on special offer. got it home set it up which took less than five minutes and the picture was brilliant the sound was a bit tinny, as i had a home surround sound when i switched that on it was a completely different sound 100% better i am extremely happy with the t.v and the price.and the features it has got are brilliant as well. 01 July 2014
It's a cracker For the price, brill picture and good sound, would recommend. 01 July 2014
Excellent TV! Brilliant picture and was very easy to set up. I have a sound bar so the sound quality doesn't bother me, but does sound tinny with out it. For the price I couldn't ask for a better TV, would highly recommend. 01 July 2014
Good value Very pleased with the telly does everything it should do, it looks great, would have preferred black but hey it's a good price so we settled on the grey looks ok on the black stand we already had from before, one happy customer. 25 June 2014
<<< Previous 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 Next >>>
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

2 weeks, 5 days ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 4 days ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

3 weeks, 4 days ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

3 weeks, 6 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

3 weeks, 1 day ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

3 weeks, 1 day ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 weeks, 6 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 4 days ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.