Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  147/4680
was £279.99 £224.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £55.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Buy now, pay 6 Months later or 36 Months at £9.13, APR 29.9%

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Screen size: 42 inches
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Smart TV.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 394 407
Hitachi TV Great product, very pleased 27 February 2014
Good value for money. The set up instructions are vague and not detailed enough. After many hours and the help of 4 people I decided to ring the help line. The assistant tried her best to help but recommended I returned the tv to Argos and request a replacement. However, I am stubborn and had another fiddle with the settings and eventually it worked. This was a painful process. Now the tv is up and running it's very nice. 26 February 2014
Very good TV but sound is very poor without booster. 26 February 2014
really poor sound Quick set up Really poor quite tinny sound Not worth the money 26 February 2014
Unbelieveable quality for the price This Tv is brilliant quality for the price. Great picture, great sound, easy to set up. Great value for money. 25 February 2014
Hitachi 42" smart tv Fantastic offer and product.i recommended it yo two memberd of my family which they bought and love it 25 February 2014
Bought at sale price I bought this set in the sales, to put me on until I get a larger TV The picture is great, but the sound leaves a lot to be desired, due to the picture frame design. I use a cinema amp, so this is not an issue, but it's worth noting. Picture is sharp when watching in HD, but there's a lot of messing about getting the contrast setting spot on. An all round a great set for the sale price, but would have been disappointed if I had paid full. 25 February 2014
The product has everything i was looking for in a tv,very happy with my purchase. 25 February 2014
Great tv Cant find any problems at the moment. would have been great to have everything to hand regarding the complete set up for the internet connection. 25 February 2014
Excellent TV Had a small problem when trying to set it up - but called the technician department and within 2 minutes sorted me. Otherwise I am extremely happy with my buy. 20 February 2014
Value for money I bought this tv because it was the cheapest smart tv I could find. Overall the tv is good, quality picture , nice size etc my one and only fault is the sound. I feel this tv has no quality to its sound. If I had been able to hear the tv in store I honestly would not have bought this item. 18 February 2014
excellent television, internet let down ? Excellent product, Excellent price, trouble is when you want to make use of the internet options you have to sign up to smartvue, the site does not recognise your details as it is in Turkish ? I contacted Hitachi who informed me it was nothing to do with them as Argos imported the television ? and were responsible for the smartvue site ? what a pain !!! 16 February 2014
tv Great TV , clear crisp picture with good colour. 12 February 2014
Make Replaced LG with this Hitachi good decision 12 February 2014
In generally, a good TV. A great performance/cost TV. The only complain is relative slow reacted from remote command. 11 February 2014
smart tv Lovely. Picture easy setting and worth the money 11 February 2014
hitachi 42inch smart tv excellent tv good value for money 11 February 2014
Great deal! Ok, the sound is a bit tinny, the connection via smart usb key a bit dodgy. But for that money it is a real deal! 11 February 2014
Not a smart tv!! Brought this TV because it was advertised on tv and in the Argos sale book for a good price. This tv is NOT a smart tv, there are just a few apps on it and you cannot had anymore apps to it. Picture is good quality but if you want a smart tv don't buy this one. 11 February 2014
Hitachi Smart 42" TV This is 42" but with such a small frame takes up little more room than the old 32". Its matt steel grey frame is much more pleasing than the previous shiny black one and blends in easily. Noyt used all the features yet but there are loads to learn. The only problem at present is the freeview connection to ITV but that is likely our area and arial position. 11 February 2014
(203 Questions | 246 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
lauren
Location: Rotherham, South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 6 days ago
Answer: 
Sorry Lauren, this TV only seems to come with pre-installed apps which cannot be added to!
Customer avatar
by
Karabiner
Location: Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Can I connect a sound bar?

2 weeks, 3 days ago
Can I connect a sound bar using AUX or Audio in/out?
Customer avatar
by
Ping Ping
Location: Ilkeston, Derbyshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks, 1 day ago
Answer: 
Hi,

Thank you for your question.

I can confirm that both an AUX and Audio in/out connection can be used to connect a soundbar usually. Check the soundbar specification and the cable you wish to use to connect the two in order to decide which one will be best.

Thanks for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Alicia @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

does this tv have an optical output?

2 weeks, 5 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Nick
Location: Bedford, Bedford, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks, 4 days ago
Answer: 
Hello there,

This product does not have an optical output port.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Harri @ Argos
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
3 weeks, 1 day ago
I am worried about the sound quality on this as I have read some bad reviews. Would you need a soundbar for example ? Also for another model a review said that the quality of the tv was cheap and tacky. I hope this is not true !
Customer avatar
by
olibroli
Location: London, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

3 weeks ago
Answer: 
this is very much up too the individual, and as such i can only give you my own thought's, i am delighted in what i got for the money and not being into the market leaders or paying the kind of money that this would cost. this set is more than good enough for my requirement.
Customer avatar
by
doug
Location: renfrewshire
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 21 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 21 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 147/4680

Cash price £224.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.