Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£99.99
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£29.99 Was £44.99 Save 1/3
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 381 394
Make Replaced LG with this Hitachi good decision 12 February 2014
In generally, a good TV. A great performance/cost TV. The only complain is relative slow reacted from remote command. 11 February 2014
smart tv Lovely. Picture easy setting and worth the money 11 February 2014
hitachi 42inch smart tv excellent tv good value for money 11 February 2014
Great deal! Ok, the sound is a bit tinny, the connection via smart usb key a bit dodgy. But for that money it is a real deal! 11 February 2014
Not a smart tv!! Brought this TV because it was advertised on tv and in the Argos sale book for a good price. This tv is NOT a smart tv, there are just a few apps on it and you cannot had anymore apps to it. Picture is good quality but if you want a smart tv don't buy this one. 11 February 2014
Hitachi Smart 42" TV This is 42" but with such a small frame takes up little more room than the old 32". Its matt steel grey frame is much more pleasing than the previous shiny black one and blends in easily. Noyt used all the features yet but there are loads to learn. The only problem at present is the freeview connection to ITV but that is likely our area and arial position. 11 February 2014
Hitachi 42 inch television The picture on this telly is brilliant, but the sound quality is terrible, we had to buy the sound bar to go with it, once this was linked up it was brilliant, highly recommend it. 11 February 2014
good value for money Good all round TV at the price limited apps and sometimes the sound on HD is not at the same speed as the mouths a bit annoying very disappointed with smart vue tv 11 February 2014
Good at the price Wanted a larger screen than our 32" with Full HD, Freeview HD and this fitted the bill at a great price. The Smart Apps are OK but nothing special. I didn't buy it for the Apps anyway. Clear and crisp picture especially when watching HD input from Tivo box, Xbox360 or BluRay. The sound quality is about the same as rivals. Thin TV's are never going to sound great. I use an A/V amp anyway so not a problem for me. Do not buy the Hitachi 30W Soundbar if you buy a TV, not worth the extra. 11 February 2014
CHEAP AND NOT CHEERFUL THE PICTURE WAS OK IN HD BUT STANDARD IT BLURRED AND WAS POOR, MY OLD PLASMA 7 YEARS OLD WAS FAR BETTER, THE SOUND WAS TERRIBLE . IN GENERAL IT SEEMED CHEAP QUALITY RETURNED IT WITHIN 2 HOURS OF BUYING IT THE ARGOS STAFF WERE EXCELLENT AND VERY HELPFUL CANNOT FAULT THE STAFF 11 February 2014
Hitachi HXT 12U 42" LED TV Great picture, easy to set up. Excellent TV 11 February 2014
Excellent features Very good value for money 11 February 2014
Hitachi 42" LED TV Excellent picture quality, easy set up, very good value for money 11 February 2014
Brilliant purchase all tho had a few problems with internet 11 February 2014
Easy set up and fab picture.Bought for daughters bedroom and she loves it.Great sale price. 09 February 2014
sensible reasonably priced product advertised on t.v. very pleased with no criticisms. easy connectivity and programming including sky box and dvd player. 06 February 2014
Hitachi 42 inch full HD television This tv was bought to replace a smaller LED set. Although the set took a little time to connect up, the end result is a fantastic lifelike picture. This combined with the low price from Argos, makes this an absolute bargain 05 February 2014
great value tv excellent tv well worth the money ,picture, sound, ease of use and very stylish tv for the money highly reccomended to anyone considering the purchase 04 February 2014
Great TV for it's value This is a great TV for the money you pay for. It has almost everything you need. It is not as "smart" as other TV's in the market, but let's not forget the price you pay for a 42 inch LED Full HD... Menus could have been better but maybe SmartView will have an update at some point (don't hold your breath to it of course). If you have an HD Sky box, or xbox then this is just brilliant to complement it. 04 February 2014
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

1 week, 1 day ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

2 weeks ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

2 weeks, 2 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 week, 4 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 week, 4 days ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 weeks, 2 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.