Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£74.99 Was £99.99 Save 25%
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£29.99 Was £44.99 Save 1/3
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 381 394
Excellent product poor support I love this tv, easy set up excellent picture. My only complaint would be the support offered is very poor,so still unable to connect to the internet even though I have the dongle 04 March 2014
DELIGHTED WITH THIS PRODUCT Very sleek design, crisp picture quality even on non HD good quality sound, easy to set up and a fantastic price. 04 March 2014
Great TV though the remote is a let down! This is a great hd, freeview TV. With a great picture quality. Its just a shame its remote control let's it down. When typing channel numbers in it often misses one and will take several times to get the channel that you want. But as a TV overall I would recommend it. 04 March 2014
unhappy. Had to return the Tv after a week as there was an issue with the sound. Even at low volume you'd get an annoying buzz regardless of how your sound preferences were set up 04 March 2014
Not too bad The remote battery cover is flimsy and comes off easily. The overall feel to the TV smacks of the cheaper end but then again this is an awful lot of TV for the money. A strange pale grey screen with Hitachi written across it greets you when you turn it on. I think it has also behaved unpredictably at one point can't remember if it turned itself on or off unexpectedly or something like that. Generally speaking this has been OK so far but I keep waiting for it to go wrong. 04 March 2014
Great all rounder Had been trying to get this product for a few weeks whilst on promo but was always out of stock when I finally managed I wasn't disappointed. Easy to set up great sound and picture quality. Just got our first home and this was ideal and a fantastic price too. My parents also bought one and they love the fact that there is not much plastic frame its all TV. 01 March 2014
my new Tv I bought this tv an sale was a fantastic price the tv is fantastic the only thing that lets it down is the sound not as loud as my old tv but don't let this put you off overall its a great tv I am over the moon with it highly recommend 27 February 2014
Hitachi TV Great product, very pleased 27 February 2014
Good value for money. The set up instructions are vague and not detailed enough. After many hours and the help of 4 people I decided to ring the help line. The assistant tried her best to help but recommended I returned the tv to Argos and request a replacement. However, I am stubborn and had another fiddle with the settings and eventually it worked. This was a painful process. Now the tv is up and running it's very nice. 26 February 2014
Very good TV but sound is very poor without booster. 26 February 2014
really poor sound Quick set up Really poor quite tinny sound Not worth the money 26 February 2014
Unbelieveable quality for the price This Tv is brilliant quality for the price. Great picture, great sound, easy to set up. Great value for money. 25 February 2014
Hitachi 42" smart tv Fantastic offer and product.i recommended it yo two memberd of my family which they bought and love it 25 February 2014
Bought at sale price I bought this set in the sales, to put me on until I get a larger TV The picture is great, but the sound leaves a lot to be desired, due to the picture frame design. I use a cinema amp, so this is not an issue, but it's worth noting. Picture is sharp when watching in HD, but there's a lot of messing about getting the contrast setting spot on. An all round a great set for the sale price, but would have been disappointed if I had paid full. 25 February 2014
The product has everything i was looking for in a tv,very happy with my purchase. 25 February 2014
Great tv Cant find any problems at the moment. would have been great to have everything to hand regarding the complete set up for the internet connection. 25 February 2014
Excellent TV Had a small problem when trying to set it up - but called the technician department and within 2 minutes sorted me. Otherwise I am extremely happy with my buy. 20 February 2014
Value for money I bought this tv because it was the cheapest smart tv I could find. Overall the tv is good, quality picture , nice size etc my one and only fault is the sound. I feel this tv has no quality to its sound. If I had been able to hear the tv in store I honestly would not have bought this item. 18 February 2014
excellent television, internet let down ? Excellent product, Excellent price, trouble is when you want to make use of the internet options you have to sign up to smartvue, the site does not recognise your details as it is in Turkish ? I contacted Hitachi who informed me it was nothing to do with them as Argos imported the television ? and were responsible for the smartvue site ? what a pain !!! 16 February 2014
tv Great TV , clear crisp picture with good colour. 12 February 2014
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

1 week, 3 days ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 2 days ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

2 weeks, 2 days ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
5 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

2 weeks, 4 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 week, 6 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 week, 6 days ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 weeks, 4 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 2 days ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.