Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Buy now, pay 6 Months later or 36 Months at £11.36, APR 29.9%

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42 inches
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 386 399
Overall good product Had TV about two weeks, very pleased. Execelent for the price. Well done ARGOS. Thank You. 11 March 2014
Great bargain I brought this tv for my elderly father,picture is lovely and the sound is fine,the only thing I would've liked was the extra scart but that's just being picky,tv was very easy to set up,I think this was a great price for a 42 inch,I can't complain. 11 March 2014
Excellant value for money light and easy to set up and use! very impressed! 11 March 2014
Bargain What a cracking tv for the price and so easy to reserve and collect and then install and watch 11 March 2014
good prodct for an exceptional pricw A good tv at a very exceptional price and very nicly designed with a nice thin frame around the screen 06 March 2014
Excellent product poor support I love this tv, easy set up excellent picture. My only complaint would be the support offered is very poor,so still unable to connect to the internet even though I have the dongle 04 March 2014
DELIGHTED WITH THIS PRODUCT Very sleek design, crisp picture quality even on non HD good quality sound, easy to set up and a fantastic price. 04 March 2014
Great TV though the remote is a let down! This is a great hd, freeview TV. With a great picture quality. Its just a shame its remote control let's it down. When typing channel numbers in it often misses one and will take several times to get the channel that you want. But as a TV overall I would recommend it. 04 March 2014
unhappy. Had to return the Tv after a week as there was an issue with the sound. Even at low volume you'd get an annoying buzz regardless of how your sound preferences were set up 04 March 2014
Not too bad The remote battery cover is flimsy and comes off easily. The overall feel to the TV smacks of the cheaper end but then again this is an awful lot of TV for the money. A strange pale grey screen with Hitachi written across it greets you when you turn it on. I think it has also behaved unpredictably at one point can't remember if it turned itself on or off unexpectedly or something like that. Generally speaking this has been OK so far but I keep waiting for it to go wrong. 04 March 2014
Great all rounder Had been trying to get this product for a few weeks whilst on promo but was always out of stock when I finally managed I wasn't disappointed. Easy to set up great sound and picture quality. Just got our first home and this was ideal and a fantastic price too. My parents also bought one and they love the fact that there is not much plastic frame its all TV. 01 March 2014
my new Tv I bought this tv an sale was a fantastic price the tv is fantastic the only thing that lets it down is the sound not as loud as my old tv but don't let this put you off overall its a great tv I am over the moon with it highly recommend 27 February 2014
Hitachi TV Great product, very pleased 27 February 2014
Good value for money. The set up instructions are vague and not detailed enough. After many hours and the help of 4 people I decided to ring the help line. The assistant tried her best to help but recommended I returned the tv to Argos and request a replacement. However, I am stubborn and had another fiddle with the settings and eventually it worked. This was a painful process. Now the tv is up and running it's very nice. 26 February 2014
Very good TV but sound is very poor without booster. 26 February 2014
really poor sound Quick set up Really poor quite tinny sound Not worth the money 26 February 2014
Unbelieveable quality for the price This Tv is brilliant quality for the price. Great picture, great sound, easy to set up. Great value for money. 25 February 2014
Hitachi 42" smart tv Fantastic offer and product.i recommended it yo two memberd of my family which they bought and love it 25 February 2014
Bought at sale price I bought this set in the sales, to put me on until I get a larger TV The picture is great, but the sound leaves a lot to be desired, due to the picture frame design. I use a cinema amp, so this is not an issue, but it's worth noting. Picture is sharp when watching in HD, but there's a lot of messing about getting the contrast setting spot on. An all round a great set for the sale price, but would have been disappointed if I had paid full. 25 February 2014
The product has everything i was looking for in a tv,very happy with my purchase. 25 February 2014
(190 Questions | 233 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
1 week, 3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Lindy Loo
Location: York, York, York, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
6 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Lindy,

Thank you for your question.

I can confirm that a wireless keyboard and mouse can be used with this TV - using the USB port.

Thanks for using Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Alicia @ Argos
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Viewing picture gallery on USB

3 weeks, 2 days ago
Please can you advise if this TV can play through a series of jpeg files stored on a usb stick?

I would like to load 20-30 pictures and set the TV to play through each file in turn automatically.
Customer avatar
by
James
Location: Marlow, Marlow, Buckinghamshire SL7, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks, 4 days ago
Answer: 
Hi,

I have checked for you and the Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps is able to view photos of jpeg files stored on a USB stick.

Thank you for using Question and Answer.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

VGA or SVGA

3 weeks, 3 days ago
Is the VGA input SVGA or just standard VGA?
Customer avatar
by
Chris
Location: Essex, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 weeks, 1 day ago
Answer: 
Hi Chris,

This TV has a VGA input, this will support VGA and SVGA cables.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

will not go online

1 month, 1 week ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

3 weeks, 2 days ago
Answer: 
I had a problem with the TV keep on trying to set up through my blue ray player? which I didn't realise it was doing at first, so may be helpful to turn off your other devices whilst setting up the wireless connection....to prevent any confusion.
Customer avatar
by
jujujujuju
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 month, 1 week ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.