Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£99.99
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£29.99 Was £44.99 Save 1/3
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 381 394
Great TV And at the price it's a bargain 18 March 2014
The best value for money on the market.... 18 March 2014
does what i says on the box Having seen this for about 8 weeks on the trot and was ALWAYS out of stock on planet earth, I was shocked but pleased to finally manage to get this tv at such a great price. no con issues so far 18 March 2014
Great product cheap price Quality product at a very good price, pic and sound quality is great 18 March 2014
Great overall Great TV overall. The infra red is on the bottom left of the TV and sometimes it's hard to change station or use other functions. Smart apps are average, but I'll never use them. Sometimes I lose hd signal too, so make sure your aerial is in properly. Great TV for the price and for gamers, the ps4 looks amazing on it. 18 March 2014
Great tv Great tv, good picture and sound, but it has only been 2 weeks and the remote has broken already :/ and there aren't any buttons on the actual tv itself, so I cannot switch between tv and scart. The other downside is that you can only connect to the internet on it via an Ethernet cable but even then the connection isn't as good as it should be, going through a cable. But all in all I doubt you could find a better 42" tv for the price. :) 18 March 2014
not as good as it seems Brought this to replace my 40" flat screen which had nothing wrong with it,was just getting oldand due an upgrade, seen this and thought it was a bargain as my previous TV was 3xs the price 4 years ago, got home easy to set up but I've noticed the pixels are not that great can see the squares when the program is going into new senes ,the sound isn't the best and it takes a few minutes to actually load so I can change channels if I had the option now to keep my old one over this i would 18 March 2014
Made up with it!!! really happy with the television. it looks great in the living room. 18 March 2014
Great tv, picture quality is excellent This tv is great value for money! Really impressed with the picture quality and ease of setup. Can't see any reason to pay twice as much for a different brand when this tv is this good. 18 March 2014
Rubbish This is meant to be a smart tv!! It only has the apps pre programmed in you can not download any further software or surf the net!! No point buying a smart tv that doesn't do a lot you would be better off paying less money for a normal TV or getting a samsung Smart tv which is fantastic!! 18 March 2014
Better than expected I read mixed reviews before buying, but already owned a Hitachi TV that I've been really happy with. This model is a really nice TV. It looks good & the sound is decent too. The Internet options aren't great, but there gas to be a trade off at this price. I love the software that allows you to link yiur phone & laptop to this TV. Overall I'm very happy with this purchase! 11 March 2014
The only complaint I have got is that there's no buttons to turn over on the tv itself if your remote brakes 11 March 2014
Hitachi hxt12u 42 This has replaced an lg tv that packed up. To be fair sound quality is reasonable although I have connected a soundbar which makes it so much better, I got a half price wireless dongle with the tv which is easy to set up, for the media browser I just plug in my external hard drive and watch stuff off there. 11 March 2014
Really pleased with the telly 11 March 2014
im so happy with this smart tv YES I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS HITACHI SMART TV 11 March 2014
Overall good product Had TV about two weeks, very pleased. Execelent for the price. Well done ARGOS. Thank You. 11 March 2014
Great bargain I brought this tv for my elderly father,picture is lovely and the sound is fine,the only thing I would've liked was the extra scart but that's just being picky,tv was very easy to set up,I think this was a great price for a 42 inch,I can't complain. 11 March 2014
Excellant value for money light and easy to set up and use! very impressed! 11 March 2014
Bargain What a cracking tv for the price and so easy to reserve and collect and then install and watch 11 March 2014
good prodct for an exceptional pricw A good tv at a very exceptional price and very nicly designed with a nice thin frame around the screen 06 March 2014
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

1 week, 2 days ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 1 day ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

2 weeks, 1 day ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
4 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

2 weeks, 3 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 week, 5 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 week, 5 days ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 weeks, 3 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 1 day ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.