Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£74.99 Was £99.99 Save 25%
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£44.99
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 382 395
looks pretty but features are poor Bought this TV as it was on offer and advertised as a smart TV - but you can only use the apps that Hitachi provide and doesn't have internet browser. Further, it is very slow to respond when first turned on, a loading icon is shown in the top lhs of the screen and TV will not change channel/volume/menu until loaded. Sound is OK but not great. 25 March 2014
Great picture quality Absolutely delighted with our product,works perfectly and the HD quality makes viewing programmes a delight! 25 March 2014
Very very poor quality sound I returned this TV within the hour, the sound quality is so poor I could not watch this, gutted as great price for a 42" 25 March 2014
Excellent value for money 25 March 2014
tv Was originally unsure about buying this as didn't think it would be great because of the low price but I am really impressed with it. The picture is excellent and so easy to set up. Only 1 negative..... the sound could be improved on but overall well worth buying. 25 March 2014
lovely picture was a little disapointed with the smart apps on this tv i expected to be able to watch netflix thru them but unable to do so it does have facebook and iplayer which im not really intrested in as i have a complete sky set up however the picture is top notch the sound quality could be better but is good enuff for what we need here 25 March 2014
Great tv. Can't get the internet to work on it but other than that it's great 25 March 2014
Great product. Really satisfied, easy to install and use. Great price for it's value. 25 March 2014
Great TV This is a great TV at an excellent price!Quality picture. 25 March 2014
Great Value A great TV, At a great price, purchased as a gift for mothers day and she absolutely loves it! Several smart apps, but not many, if your well into apps then get something else but its perfect for my mother! 24 March 2014
this product has great features picture very sharp,excellent definition on all freeview channels,an excellent purchase. 21 March 2014
Outstanding value! Bought this for my son for a house warming present. He is absolutely delighted with it. Not one bad comment at all, nothing but positive feedback from him. 20 March 2014
Can't use the apps Sound quality poor - need a sound bar Preset apps are ok but even with help it would not connect to Facebook, twitter or flickr. The registration website does not work. There is no web browser Looks good and picture quality is good. Overall I was disappointed by this product and so invested more money to buy a better smart tv 19 March 2014
poor design Tv is ok but there Will be problems if the remote fails as there are no manual buttons onthe tv itself also no on/off switch it has to be switched off at the mains. 19 March 2014
Very easy to set up A really nice looking TV, simple to set up. Can't fault the picture or the sound quality. We set up the smart apps feature which is really easy to use. Highly recommended! 19 March 2014
Excellent value and quality This TV is all we wanted from a large screen slimline model. 19 March 2014
overall good tv Smart tv but cant install extra apps and only got bbc iplayer no 4od or itv so shockin really but the fact u can watch films play music and and pictures from hard drive is fantastic picture quality fantastic and recieves hd freeview 19 March 2014
Bought for holiday home Great looking tv, very easy to set up even I could do it!! Picture quality is good so is the nice thin frame around the screen Would def rec 19 March 2014
you get what you pay for What can I say its cheap but does what it says on the box. would I recommend of course for the price its worth it 19 March 2014
great TV very suprised I bought this tv after our Samsung started going faulty , and it is a brilliant Tv even compared to our Samsung the picture I would say is only one percent less bright than the Samsung which is still 500 for 40inch . and this Hitachi has freeviewHD which is crystal clear , also you can never see the pixels in this tv like the squareness ya can in Samsung's etc when u get close this tv never does that and on freeviewHD it is really really bright and clear . Get a soundbar if you like bass . 18 March 2014
<<< Previous 14 15 16 17 18 ... 20 Next >>>
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

2 weeks, 4 days ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 3 days ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

3 weeks, 3 days ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 week, 6 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

3 weeks, 5 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 6 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

3 weeks ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 weeks, 5 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 3 days ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.