Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee.  147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
pdp_socialmediamain

Product summary


Buy now, pay 6 Months later or 36 Months at £11.36, APR 29.9%

when you buy with the Argos Card. Representative 29.9% APR variable

More about Argos Credit Offers

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 APR(variable)

Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

pdp_layout

Essential Extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42 inches
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

This item is excluded from the 30 day money back guarantee. See the Additional Information panel for full details. Please note that this product is excluded from our 30 Day Money Back Guarantee. This does not affect your statutory rights.

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 386 399
Value for Money with some Possible Improvements The TV is light and safely packaged, coming with remote controller and plastic stand. A bit thicker than other recent models. The picture is clear and smooth, the sound lacks bases but voices are clear. Good connectivity apart from wi-fi connection (dongle to be purchased separately); possibility to control the TV with a smartphone (if internet connection is available). The number of apps is pretty limited for a smart TV: there is no web browser and it is not possible to obtain new ones. 28 March 2014
Hitachi 42 tv It was so hard to set up. The sound lets it down. I took it back and had an LG 28 March 2014
I think this tv is having some manufacturing fault I bought this TV because of its smart TV features. But most of the times while watching something on YouTube, the TV gets restarted. The progress bar available on normal internet's YouTube player is not available in this TV's player so if the TV gets restarted after 1 hour of watching, you need to keep pressing forward button on remote ( hundreds of times depending on the length of forward ) to get to the point where you lost the video due to restart. 27 March 2014
Great Value for money very reasonably priced, and easy to set up. picture and sound quality good. A very good purchase in this price range. Would recommend this product. 26 March 2014
looks pretty but features are poor Bought this TV as it was on offer and advertised as a smart TV - but you can only use the apps that Hitachi provide and doesn't have internet browser. Further, it is very slow to respond when first turned on, a loading icon is shown in the top lhs of the screen and TV will not change channel/volume/menu until loaded. Sound is OK but not great. 25 March 2014
Great picture quality Absolutely delighted with our product,works perfectly and the HD quality makes viewing programmes a delight! 25 March 2014
Very very poor quality sound I returned this TV within the hour, the sound quality is so poor I could not watch this, gutted as great price for a 42" 25 March 2014
Excellent value for money 25 March 2014
tv Was originally unsure about buying this as didn't think it would be great because of the low price but I am really impressed with it. The picture is excellent and so easy to set up. Only 1 negative..... the sound could be improved on but overall well worth buying. 25 March 2014
lovely picture was a little disapointed with the smart apps on this tv i expected to be able to watch netflix thru them but unable to do so it does have facebook and iplayer which im not really intrested in as i have a complete sky set up however the picture is top notch the sound quality could be better but is good enuff for what we need here 25 March 2014
Great tv. Can't get the internet to work on it but other than that it's great 25 March 2014
Great product. Really satisfied, easy to install and use. Great price for it's value. 25 March 2014
Great TV This is a great TV at an excellent price!Quality picture. 25 March 2014
Great Value A great TV, At a great price, purchased as a gift for mothers day and she absolutely loves it! Several smart apps, but not many, if your well into apps then get something else but its perfect for my mother! 24 March 2014
this product has great features picture very sharp,excellent definition on all freeview channels,an excellent purchase. 21 March 2014
Outstanding value! Bought this for my son for a house warming present. He is absolutely delighted with it. Not one bad comment at all, nothing but positive feedback from him. 20 March 2014
Can't use the apps Sound quality poor - need a sound bar Preset apps are ok but even with help it would not connect to Facebook, twitter or flickr. The registration website does not work. There is no web browser Looks good and picture quality is good. Overall I was disappointed by this product and so invested more money to buy a better smart tv 19 March 2014
poor design Tv is ok but there Will be problems if the remote fails as there are no manual buttons onthe tv itself also no on/off switch it has to be switched off at the mains. 19 March 2014
Very easy to set up A really nice looking TV, simple to set up. Can't fault the picture or the sound quality. We set up the smart apps feature which is really easy to use. Highly recommended! 19 March 2014
Excellent value and quality This TV is all we wanted from a large screen slimline model. 19 March 2014
<<< Previous 14 15 16 17 18 ... 21 Next >>>
(190 Questions | 233 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
1 week, 2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Lindy Loo
Location: York, York, York, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
5 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Lindy,

Thank you for your question.

I can confirm that a wireless keyboard and mouse can be used with this TV - using the USB port.

Thanks for using Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Alicia @ Argos
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Viewing picture gallery on USB

3 weeks, 1 day ago
Please can you advise if this TV can play through a series of jpeg files stored on a usb stick?

I would like to load 20-30 pictures and set the TV to play through each file in turn automatically.
Customer avatar
by
James
Location: Marlow, Marlow, Buckinghamshire SL7, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 weeks, 3 days ago
Answer: 
Hi,

I have checked for you and the Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps is able to view photos of jpeg files stored on a USB stick.

Thank you for using Question and Answer.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

VGA or SVGA

3 weeks, 2 days ago
Is the VGA input SVGA or just standard VGA?
Customer avatar
by
Chris
Location: Essex, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Chris,

This TV has a VGA input, this will support VGA and SVGA cables.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

will not go online

1 month, 1 week ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

3 weeks, 1 day ago
Answer: 
I had a problem with the TV keep on trying to set up through my blue ray player? which I didn't realise it was doing at first, so may be helpful to turn off your other devices whilst setting up the wireless connection....to prevent any confusion.
Customer avatar
by
jujujujuju
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 month, 1 week ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Excluded from the Argos 30 day money back guarantee. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.

Buy now, pay later with the Argos Card

Get a new Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select "Apply for credit" on the payment page to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.

Representative 29.9 % APR variable. Pay off a Buy Now, Pay Later Plan by the due date and you pay no interest. Spread the cost further, then you pay interest on the whole balance from the purchase date, with a minimum monthly payment. The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Representative example: Spend £450, make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, 29.9% APR fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable

Store card credit for Argos Ltd is provided exclusively by Home Retail Group Card Services Ltd, part of the same group and both at 489-499 Avebury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2NW.

© Argos Limited 2014. All Rights Reserved.