Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£99.99
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£29.99 Was £44.99 Save 1/3
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 381 394
A great TV and a budget price I never had a HD TV before so I thought it was time to buy one and I notice the Hitachi TV was on sale in Argos. After reading the reviews this TV was the one for me I am very pleased with my purchased. Easy to set up through my cable and I even purchased a dongle from Argos to set up the TV with Smart Apps. Very pleased with it. 29 April 2014
excellent TV for the £ The only problem I found was the poor conectitivity - but this is due to the rubbish Internet I have. Everything else is excellent and I would recommend this TV to anyone who doesn't want to spend more than a few hundred on a TV. 29 April 2014
A lemon - sadly! From the moment it was plugged in the picture quality was terrible, sometimes unwatchable and I turned off one or two programmes I usually really enjoyed. Clearly a lemon and the engineer who came to look at it before I returned it, said " it`s a software failure". Let`s hope it was a one off. 29 April 2014
Happy with my TV, although the sound lets it down a little. good picture etc. good value for the money. 29 April 2014
This tv is a great bargain... However the sound quality is not the best definitely will need to purchase a sound bar as sound seems far away.. Also the controls on the tv are fairly awkward to use 29 April 2014
Does the job Great tv, great prices while in the sale. Only downside so far is the lack of apps and being able to download more. Besides that does the job. 29 April 2014
a great product and grat value for money 25 April 2014
Good product Really nice tv. The size is perfect for things like playing xbox and watching movies. Very good value for money 23 April 2014
very good, recommended product at a reasonable price. 23 April 2014
Clean design, virtually all you see is screen. Quite light so easy to move around. Excellent value. Other reviewers have reported poor sound quality but seems fine to me. Could have used a third HDMI connection but not a big deal. 23 April 2014
screen This is a very good product but was disappointed by the thumb size mark on the screen otherwise would have rated the product higher. Smart TV apps very limited. 23 April 2014
Great value for money Good picture and really good value at the price. 23 April 2014
New TV Wanted to update my TV and this TV meet all of my needs regarding what I wanted my TV to provide. I checked various stores & websites and for my money couldn't get anything near matching this what this was offering, unless I spent more money!!! Excellent Price, Stylist & Easy to set-up. I would recommend you add the sound system which is offered at a cheaper price if it's brought with the TV. 23 April 2014
Great tv This tv has a great picture and a lot of features. The sound is fairly good for a flat screen telly and the fact you can connect your laptop etc to it wirelessly is a bonus. All in all well worth the money 22 April 2014
Fab tv! Absolutely fab tv! After being used to a tiny 19" tv in the living room this looked ginormous. Couldn't have asked for more. Also the delivery guy was nice, polite and friendly. 22 April 2014
It was just a mistake Picture and sound qualities are below average 22 April 2014
best product for that price. Its really a good product. If someone like smart TV he should buy this tv. Good value for money. 16 April 2014
Fantastic smart tv Bought for my 14 year old son for his birthday. He was delighted, fantastic features, easy to set up. Bought the wifi dongle and it works brilliantly. Great price. It was recommended by a friend , as they had just bought it too. A must have if you are looking for a new tv. 15 April 2014
Couldn't get much better for the price Not the best TV I've ever owned but for the price, this is excellent. Lots of features and decent quality picture. Sound always an issue on these TVs even at the top end but a sound bar improves matters. 15 April 2014
TV. Fine used in sons bedroom. No complaints 15 April 2014
<<< Previous 11 12 13 14 15 ... 20 Next >>>
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

1 week, 1 day ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

2 weeks ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
3 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

2 weeks, 2 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 week, 4 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 week, 4 days ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 weeks, 2 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.