Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£74.99 Was £99.99 Save 25%
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£29.99 Was £44.99 Save 1/3
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 381 394
Good value tv Does the job very nicely. Only thing that let's it down is the sound quality. 07 May 2014
This product is great value for money This TV is great value for money especially when it was reduced in price. After reading all reviews decided to buy soundbar but returned it because sound was good and the soundbar was ugly. 07 May 2014
Overview This product is excellent value. The picture, sound and ease to set up is excellent and connecting to the internet is easy. The only drawback is no Wi-Fi dongle is supplied. 06 May 2014
Good TV, but not Smart As a Tv, this does the job, sleek design, easy to use remote, clear picture. However, brought this for the 'Smart' aspect and very dissappointed. Iplayer not on it as description says, and does not allow any downloads, so can not download basic Apps like 4OD and 5 Demand, the whole reason we brought it. So now have to get a separate box to get these channels. 06 May 2014
Very happy purchase , like the picture quality!!! 06 May 2014
Good for the Price Not a perfect picture but good enough for the price 06 May 2014
Great value for size but appaling sound This is great value for money and is a really nice slim design. As soon as i switched it on the tv sounded muffled and echoed on anything live or loud absolute nightmare to watch phoned tech support who sent an engineer and he explained common fault as speaker too big for how thin the tv is made. So because of this would not reccomend and would say an absolute let down on sound although the picture is quite good. 06 May 2014
good picture good value for money tv. but the sound is a bit tinny so had to buy a sound bar,now it sounds great and the smart tv aps are a bit limited 06 May 2014
Hitachi Smart TV HXT12U can only find one fault with this TV it has no on/off switch it will only go into standby other than that it's stunning 06 May 2014
Great TV for the Price Went with this TV because it has the best spec at the lowest price (1080p, Freeview HD and WIFI). You do need a dongle to connect it but it still worked out cheaper than elsewhere. I agree with others that the sound is a bit 'tinny', certainly not as good as my LG, but if sounds your thing you'll buy a separate AV system anyway. Overall, very good. 06 May 2014
Great value Couldn't be happier with the tv and you couldn't pass it up for that price! Amazing value for money!! 06 May 2014
Hitachi tv So far we are very happy with product. Yet to go around all the features but we like what we have tried. We are currently in a state of redecoration so i`m sure everything will look great when finished. 06 May 2014
Very good value for money The sound was very poor without the sound bar. 06 May 2014
Cheapie with excellent picture For a low budject tv the picture quality is excellent, the sound is poor to aveverage which is the norm with flatscreen tv's. Stickers on rear are not put on straight, just slapped on which makes me think how good is the manufacture quality of this device Oh well only time will tell. 01 May 2014
Great picture but the sound is poor. This tv is good but in my opinion not outstanding. The picture quality is good but the sound is poor considering it was not exactly a cheap purchase. I will probably have to buy a sound bar to make the sound more acceptable, which will add to the cost of the set. I would not recommend this tv as i believe there are better sets out there at a cheaper price. 29 April 2014
Hitachi TV 42 inch TV is quality but the sound seriously let's the TV down 29 April 2014
it works the way i experted 29 April 2014
tv review Very good picture and sound quality 29 April 2014
Wicked Just what me and the kids needed 29 April 2014
Excellent product for price We brought this TV for use in our house in France. We didn't want to spend a great deal of money for something that would only be in use for part of the year. Very pleased with this product and now thinking of bringing old TV from UK and taking this one back for use over there. Used with Manhattan Freesat box we've had no problems at all. Would recommend if you just want a basic, good value TV. 29 April 2014
<<< Previous 10 11 12 13 14 ... 20 Next >>>
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

1 week, 3 days ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 2 days ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

2 weeks, 2 days ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
5 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

2 weeks, 4 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 week, 6 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 week, 6 days ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 weeks, 4 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 2 days ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.