Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

 147/4680
was £289.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £10.00
Hitachi  HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
1519617
£74.99 Was £99.99 Save 25%
 (6)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Hitachi 30W Soundbar.
42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
1819355
£44.99
 (10)
+ 1 special offer
Buy or Reserve
more details on 42 Inch Superior TV Wall Bracket
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900638
£69.99 was £0.00
 (1)
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.

Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 42in (106cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 15 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 8 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 69 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 100kWh.
  • Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.

EAN: 1474680

Additional Information

* Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 4.4 5 382 395
great purchase! Happy with this buy. Good quality picture and very pleased got it in sale!! 03 June 2014
Hitachi 42" HD TV 147/4680 I got this TV in the sale and what a TV, for the price! Very impressed with everything about this item. Would thoroughly recommend this TV to anyone, even at the normal price! Great sound and picture. 5 stars from me! 03 June 2014
Great set for the price, hassle free set up and a great picture . 03 June 2014
hitachi 42" tv great television , very easy to install and user friendly 30 May 2014
excellent tv great price for a great tv 30 May 2014
Excellent TV Easy set up. Picture quality very good. Sound is ok but if you want great sound you.ll need a sound bar. You.ll need the dongle for wireless online. Got that. All good. I would easily recommend this TV. Only moan I we'd say is that the smart option does not have Netflix or similar. It has an unknown film service which is not very good. However if you have satalite TV or cable or similar it.s not an issue. Even if like me your on free view its a great deal. 29 May 2014
great product Amazing quality would definetly reccomend 28 May 2014
good value for the great price it is a excellent tv would reccomend 28 May 2014
Disappointing picture The TV in General is or could be quite good with good smart TV features including Facebook Twitter and Skype and with that comes a very good price tag. I was excited to get it up and running. But the problem I have is that hitachi have a perspec cover built on top of the screen wich helps with its fantastic viewing angle but this part also reflects so watching TV through the day was difficult in a bright room. The picture was full of noise too. Feel deflated . 27 May 2014
Tough to set up but worth the effort Great value. Still try to fully set up need to use helpline. Sound is ok. Picture very good 27 May 2014
hitachi tv very good value only thing missing built in camera 27 May 2014
Good LCD TV This is a good quality LCD TV and works well with the freeview installed. This is used in our holiday home so we do not connect to the internet so have not tried the apps. The quality of the picture was better than expected. 27 May 2014
Good value for money I read the reviews to this tv before i bought it and was slightly worried about the sound from some of the comments but went ahead and bought it in the sale- and well im impressed its a very good tv and a smart one at that and there is nothing atall wrong with the sound it has a lovely clear picture!! So im very hAppy- well worth the money!!! And the wifi dongle that i bought to go with it to pick up wifi works well too. No problems !!! 27 May 2014
Excellent TV, great price. Great value for money, brilliant picture and we have a sound system going through it so not sure of the tv"s actual sound?? 27 May 2014
Excellent value smart tv Fast delivery, excellent picture quality. Sound has no bass to it. I suggest a bass woofer. 2 HMDI sockets may put people off as more devices use HDMI these days. Smart TV is limited to built in apps. However since purchase I've noticed new apps. 24 May 2014
Hitachi 42" LED TV I bought this tv because it was on offer. I expected it to be average in its performance, but I was surprised to see how good it actually was! Picture quality is excellent, great connectivity and decent sound. Overall I'm very pleased... 23 May 2014
This TV has good useful features I am pleased with this TV everything works great. People said the sound wasn't very good but I can't fault it there is nothing wrong with the sound. Also u don't have but a dongle to connect it up to the internet I got a cable from the computer shop and connected the TV up to wifi and it works great and the cable was only a couple off pounds. I would recommend this TV to any one because it is good value for the price off it 23 May 2014
Excellent smart TV. Great TV, every thing you need surround sound on or off,internet connection if required,fantastic picture,very easy to set up and use. 22 May 2014
Great tv Bought as a replacement for our very old television which was failing fast. Impressed with the picture clarity and design. Sound a little weak but remedied by attaching external speakers so no problem. Only down point is that I can't get the freeview to work so had to go back to an external box. 21 May 2014
Easy to install Ace picture quality ,easy to use remote,installed in mins, 21 May 2014
<<< Previous 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 Next >>>
(187 Questions | 229 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

will not go online

2 weeks, 3 days ago
bought the veezy 200 dongle,tried in both sockets,it finds it straight away giving 3 bars in one,and 4 bars in other,says on both connected to my router,if i unplug or enter it,it says either inserted or removed,but wont show apps ,says not online[but is].any ideas please?
the tv is hitachi 42hxt12u[new]
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 2 days ago
Answer: 
further to posting the question,tried everything ,till finally i used the cable with usb connection and plugged that in the tv, and then, put the dongle in that,and it worked straight away,as there was no instructions i had put dongle straight into usb on the tv,thinking that the cable was just an extension lead for awkward usb positions.
i used bottom usb as others mentioned,so i dont know if coincidence or what!!, but up to switching off ,it worked for me.
GOOD LUCK.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Programme guide timer & speakers

3 weeks, 2 days ago
When selecting a program from the program guide it gives you the option to "Set timer on event". What does this do?
Also what is the best option for extra speakers?
Customer avatar
by
Sarah
Location: Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 week, 5 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

I can confirm that set timer on even will set a timer for the program for you so you can switch it over. Also, the speakers would depend on your personal preference

Thank you for using Argos Q&A
Customer avatar
by
Charlie @ Argos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
2 answers

hitachi 42" smart tv

3 weeks, 4 days ago
HI I'm on my second tv this year(first one broke after 4 weeks). I'd like to know how to do a factory on my tv, at the moment if I don't turn it off at the plug it switches on at 3 am which gets a bit annoying. It has also started changing channels but still playing sound from the previous channel. Hope you can help if not its going back and I'll get a better quality tv.
Customer avatar
by
gareth
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 6 days ago
Answer: 
my tv has did this too my husband said it was on when he came home one day and thought id left it on and I know I didn't.
Customer avatar
by
wooliejoolie
Location: moray
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

2 weeks, 6 days ago
Answer: 
i suggest that you really roam though all the options including the ones it should not be under. just done it with our tv (not hitachi) found it, did it and nothing happened. Really it's not your job. Spend a fortune ringing the number on the back of your tv, to argos customer services, or take the sob back! x
Customer avatar
by
anita
Location: rochdale
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 weeks, 4 days ago
I have just purchased this tv along with the dongle, however I can not get it to connect to my wireless internet. The tv is picking up my witless network but when i type in my password it then won't connect. I can't connect it via the Ethernet cable as my tv is in the front room and router is upstairs, I'm lost as to what to do
Customer avatar
by
Jody
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 weeks, 2 days ago
Answer: 
i had same problem and have just posted my solution.
basically i had plugged dongle straight in to usb on tv.
i found it connected straight away, by plugging cable into tv usb, then dongle into cable usb.
as no instructions i thought cable an extension for awkward usb,s
it worked for me, hope it helps you.
Customer avatar
by
carlos
Location: Northallerton, North Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps. 147/4680

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1474680 has previously been on sale at 249.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.