Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

 138/0523
was £399.99 £239.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £160.00
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

With an edge-lit LED TV screen this Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p television boasts superb image quality. Coupled with a 7 day electronic programme you will never miss your favourite shows again.

Vibrant colours and amazing detail courtesy of its Full HD 1080p display . Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 40in (102cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 10 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 176/176 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 6 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H60.7, W93, D4cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H60.7, W93, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 15kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 63 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 91kWh.

EAN: 4902530006896

Additional Information

* Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 242.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 4.2 5 176 179
hitachi 40" smart tv. works ok easy to install but cannot get it to sync with sky remote as it is not in the SKY set up list so will have to stick with two remotes,picture & sound quality are fine,all in all well worth the money.well done" ARGOS"a bargin a the price,delivered on the day I asked for I am well pleased with purchase.p.s.sky set up list not upto date as yet. 14 January 2014
great smart TV a little lacking in sound quality Purchased this a week ago and from a picture quality point of view is spot on although due to the slim design the sound is forfeited and is tinny with little bass. (Although link to a soundbar and all is forgotten) Pros - great picture quality SMART function is great ( link via Ethernet cable,- also see cons) Slim design Great price Cons Poor sound No optical input for soundbar Cannot programme sky remote as no one knows the code Good tv if your prepared to compromise 14 January 2014
Great TV Great TV,easy to set up 14 January 2014
Great value Great picture quality and good features for the money. The only thing that let's it down is the rather poor sound quality. Easily sorted with some external speakers. 14 January 2014
HITACHI 40 INCH SO FAR ALL OK EASY TO SET UP IT GOT TWO HDMI OUTLET SO I WENT AND BOUGH A 5 HDMI OUTLET SO FAR STILL 14 January 2014
Value for money For the money, this TV is great. It doesn't have all of the functionality of higher end smart TV's, but it has enough. Picture is excellent, sound much better than my old TV, looks good. Only downside is that the base is not as shown in the picture - confusing at first and a shame as I liked the base and it was one of the reasons I went for this TV. 14 January 2014
Does what it says in the book. Easy to set up - nothing complicated. Ceefax on BBC seems faster than on previous TV sets. Delivered as promised. Have not tried linking a pc to the TV yet, but will in the future. Very pleased with the results. 14 January 2014
40"Hitachi TV. Very satisfied with purchase, features as advertised, 14 January 2014
hitachi 40 inch smart led tv. an unbelievable tv,at an ubelievable price. its fantastic. 14 January 2014
Great value! Had this TV for a couple of weeks now and love it. Sharp,clear picture, good sound quality, automatic setup. I also bought the half price TV wifi dongle to connect the tv to the internet from Argos and that's pretty easy to set up too. Very pleased with this purchase. 14 January 2014
Good value for money Easy to set up , good picture , works well with game consoles , good value for the price 14 January 2014
smart tv ? wouldn't of bothered if I had seen it working before hand. 14 January 2014
Best value smart tv I could find and easy set up , 5mins auto tune and away you go and a great picture 14 January 2014
Hitachi 40 ins smart tv Bought this as an update to our old tv,easy to set up and a very good sound & picture.I would and have recomended this product.In fact my daughters thinking about buying one The one thing I would add is to buy your wall mounting bracket on line its a lot cheaper than an Argos one 14 January 2014
bad sound TV did not take to well when connecting PC via HDMI cable and had to buy additional speakers as the sound on the TV is a disgrace, constant buzzing / crackling sound 14 January 2014
tv purchase Fantastic service from start to finish.great price,easy set up with help on hand if needed.thoroughly pleased,would strongly recommend this product. 14 January 2014
Great TV Great TV, really pleased with overall quality if picture and sound. Downside is smart Tv seems quite limited although more App may come out overtime. At the price I paid this was really great value for money. 14 January 2014
Great product for a great price 14 January 2014
Great tv This tv is fabulous! Also bought in the sale, also bought with nectar points, so very happy indeed. The picture and sound quality is amazing! 14 January 2014
nice tv Nice tv slim. Not used smart side as not wanting it for that. We got it as it was thd best price. Only minute issue the screen reflects the sun. 14 January 2014
(138 Questions | 160 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
5 days ago
Hi.
If i connect a vga cable to this tv from my computer can this be used a monitor.Has the remote got a funtion to turn this tv for monitor purpose only.
Kind Regards.
Kader.
Customer avatar
by
Kader
Location: London, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

4 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Kader,
This model has a VGA connection on the back of the product therefore you will be able to use it as a monitor for your computer. In order to switch from TV to the input from your computer use the source button on the remote and select the VGA input.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
6 days ago
hi there I have just purchased the tv and dongle that you advised , I am having problems as it is loading extrememly slowly and only picking up 3 bars , do I need a stronger dongle ? what advice please thanx regards dawn :(
Customer avatar
by
poppygirl
Location: South Shields, Tyne and Wear, UK
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 weeks ago
just bought this tv and noticed there are no controls on the actual television if something were to happen to remote contol how would i be able to contol tv
Customer avatar
by
missx
Location: Cornwall, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week ago
Answer: 
Theres controls at the back on the left hand side
Customer avatar
by
mick mac
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age: 35 to 44
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
3 weeks ago
I have no internet connection and where do I find the smart apps
Customer avatar
by
Sara
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Sara,
Best advice is to call the team on the technical helpdesk on 0845 604 0105 and they will be assist you with connecting the product to your network.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
Location: Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 138/0523

Cash price £239.99 Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 242.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.