Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

 138/0523
was £399.99 £219.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £180.00
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
1077881
£24.49 Was £29.99 Save Over £5.00
 (2)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900645
£89.99 was £0.00
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

With an edge-lit LED TV screen this Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p television boasts superb image quality. Coupled with a 7 day electronic programme you will never miss your favourite shows again.

Vibrant colours and amazing detail courtesy of its Full HD 1080p display . Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 40in (102cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 10 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 176/176 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 6 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H60.7, W93, D4cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H60.7, W93, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 15kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 63 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 91kWh.

EAN: 4902530006896

Additional Information

* Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 239.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 4.2 5 179 182
Much better than I expected This tv was a bit of an emergency buy but I am very pleased with it. The picture quality is excellent and I often forget that I'm not watching a much more expensive tv. 15 January 2014
Great price for Smart TV The TV has super picture quality. It was great value for 40" Smart TV, bought in the sales. Doesn't have built in wifi, so need to buy dongle or use ethernet cable for Smart function. 15 January 2014
Great price Got this tv for the bedroom and in the sale it was cheaper than a portable. Never had hitachi before but so far so good, easy controls and great clear pic 15 January 2014
Not as advertised I bought this TV after a lot of research but it was a waste of time. I needed a TV with a swivel stand and selected this model because the Argos website confirms it has one. Look at the photos and the Q&A. What I was sold has a fixed stand that is completely different from what is advertised. Had to return for a full refund. 15 January 2014
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD Smart LE This television is very easy to understand and the picture is excellent. 15 January 2014
Great picture Easy to set up and install, good picture and sound. Only draw back is you only find out when you get it home that you need a dongle or LAN cable to use the tv as a smart tv. Would be better to be told before hand. 15 January 2014
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD Smart TV I simply love my new TV set ! It`s a quality product at a bargain price !!! The picture is very clear and the colour is fantastic ! Watching telly now has been a completely new experience to me. I would honestly recommend it to anybody who is thinking of buying a new television set. 15 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch Hd t.v very good value for money. Easy to set up and picture fine. 15 January 2014
Hitachi 40 smart tv excellent picture and sound, great value for money.One problem I have had a few times is when using youtube the picture freezes and I cannot get back to normal tv and have to unplugged tv to reset it.I know it is not my broadband connection as it was doing it when I was on normal Broadband and I have now upgraded to fibre Broadband and it is still doing it.I may get a replacement 15 January 2014
Very pleased with purchase to date Easy to set up with good instructions from the helpful booklet provided - in good English which was a bonus. The picture quality makes our old tv look like it came out of the Ark! Very pleased with the price and quality of the product. 15 January 2014
Great product for the money, cannot fault, the smart tv bit could be a bit better with the registering 14 January 2014
hitachi 40 inch tv Nice looking TV but the sound is awful sounds like a small portable 14 January 2014
Really good value smart TV! Good image quality and sound. HD works really well. A good screen size and quality. Bought in the sale and extremely good value. The only downside is Argos have sold out of the wireless dongle so I have to have a wired connection to my home network. 14 January 2014
THE HD PICTURE CONTRAST IS OUTSTANDING IDEAL SIZE FOR A LIVING ROOM.PICTURE QUALITY AND SOUND REMINDS ME OF SITTING IN A CINEMA.GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY. 14 January 2014
great!!!!!!!!! Great size great price great features didnt take long to set up 14 January 2014
refresh rate!!!!!! In general the picture is great. But, as it's only 50 hertz refresh rate, it can struggle with movement in the dark. Also struggles to cope with call of duty movement. should have seen past the price 14 January 2014
Spot on. A bargain at the price I paid. Looks very nice. Only problem is I cannot tune my sky remote into it to adjust volume controls. 14 January 2014
software & instructions rubbish Looks great but the install disk for the NERo software doesnt go into the DVD slot of my Dell XPS laptop and having downloaded the software from the web i still cant get it to work. instructions are useless 14 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch Smart LED TV Quite impressed with this TV. Easy to set up and a good picture. Impressed with the range of smart functions. Would like to try to add to them as it looks as if there is space for more. Overall pleased all round. 14 January 2014
Great tv for the price! Brought this in the sale and got to say so far so good. Good screen size, clear sound and a decent picture. Not had very long but so far so good, just hope it stands the test of time. 14 January 2014
(139 Questions | 162 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Does the TV have dual frequency

1 week, 1 day ago
I live on the Northern Ireland border and am wondering if the TV is dual frequency so I can receive Irish channels
Customer avatar
by
cornsheds
Location: Co. Donegal, Ireland
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 days ago
Answer: 
Hello,

This TV is not currently approved by Saorview which means it may not receive their channels.

Thank you for using Argos Q&A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 month ago
Hi.
If i connect a vga cable to this tv from my computer can this be used a monitor.Has the remote got a funtion to turn this tv for monitor purpose only.
Kind Regards.
Kader.
Customer avatar
by
Kader
Location: London, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 month ago
Answer: 
Hi Kader,
This model has a VGA connection on the back of the product therefore you will be able to use it as a monitor for your computer. In order to switch from TV to the input from your computer use the source button on the remote and select the VGA input.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 month ago
hi there I have just purchased the tv and dongle that you advised , I am having problems as it is loading extrememly slowly and only picking up 3 bars , do I need a stronger dongle ? what advice please thanx regards dawn :(
Customer avatar
by
poppygirl
Location: South Shields, Tyne and Wear, UK
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

3 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi poppygirl, the dongle is only as strong as your internet Wi-Fi,if your main Wi-Fi is in a different location this could be causing a weak signal,i have the same tv and dongle and my pc is in the same room and its fine,and thats off a mobile internet dongle on my pc.
Customer avatar
by
moulican
Location: Southport, Merseyside, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
just bought this tv and noticed there are no controls on the actual television if something were to happen to remote contol how would i be able to contol tv
Customer avatar
by
missx
Location: Cornwall, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 month, 1 week ago
Answer: 
Theres controls at the back on the left hand side
Customer avatar
by
mick mac
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age: 35 to 44
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 138/0523

Cash price £219.99 Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 239.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.