Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

 138/0523
was £399.99 £219.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £180.00
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
1077881
£24.49 Was £29.99 Save Over £5.00
 (2)
Buy or Reserve
more details on Belkin High Speed HDMI Cable - 1m.
3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.
8900645
£89.99
+ Free Delivery
Buy or Reserve
more details on 3 Years Breakdown Care on this TV.

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

With an edge-lit LED TV screen this Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p television boasts superb image quality. Coupled with a 7 day electronic programme you will never miss your favourite shows again.

Vibrant colours and amazing detail courtesy of its Full HD 1080p display . Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 40in (102cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 10 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 176/176 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 6 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H60.7, W93, D4cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H60.7, W93, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 15kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 63 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 91kWh.

EAN: 4902530006896

Additional Information

* Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 239.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 4.2 5 179 182
tv Argos should have said need smart dongle as i have a lg wi fi dongle that is not compatible whith this tv poor showing as im a good argos customer ive wasted my money once more due to you and your poor advertsing thanks 28 January 2014
dongle needed great tv, lovely picture, dongle needed unless coneecting straight to router. 28 January 2014
Hitachi Smart TV Excellent TV. Easy to set up and a joy to watch. A good buy. 26 January 2014
Good TV Its a good Tv & value for money.Its easy to operate with many functions.Its very light weight & slim.looks great.I will recommend this product. 25 January 2014
Top quality picture I was a bit wary about buying this TV as it seemed to cheap to be true, but I need not have worried. The TV is excellent, picture is great quality, set up is simple. Would recommend this product to anyone. 24 January 2014
its ok its a good TV but internet not very good on i, I think it just good to watch TV not any good for being a smart TV 23 January 2014
great tv this is a very good tv for the money does everything it said in the description 23 January 2014
GOOD, REASONABLY PRICED TV. Although it came with a different stand to the one it is advertised with, it is a good TV. The normal picture is clear and the HD picture is very good. Very easy to set up. Has a nice dark silver frame around it, which makes a change from the usual black ones. The sound is of the usual quality that you would expect on a slim-line TV, but we wanted to buy a sound bar at the same time anyway. The Smart aspect is a good, fun asset to have on this TV, and comes in handy when there is nothing on! 23 January 2014
Hitachi TV Excellent value for money and has lit up my living room. If you want a big screen, excellent pictures and be able to save some cash this is the model for you. 23 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch smart tv Tha tv is good nice picture quality but can not get a code for sky remote and have to wait for hitachi out apps on unable to load yourself 23 January 2014
Hitachi 40" Full HD Smart tv model 40HXT16U J Good quality smart HD at a good price. Connectivity 2x hdmi, 1x scart, 1x ethernet lan for broadband/smart feature, spdif coax, vga for pc to tv streaming but also dlna wireless streaming, earphone jack, stereo jack. Only let down for some may be only 1x usb input and you can't hot-swap devices. Smooth clear full hd picture, good volume levels, but limited quality, fine for normal tv viewing but might want sound-bar or system adding for good quality sounds listening to music and film soundtracks 23 January 2014
Fantastic Value For Money Have been looking round for a 40 inch Smart TV for a while. When I saw this one I was a little worried due to the low cost. I shouldn't have been. This is just what I wanted. I was so impressed I recommended to my sister and cousin who both went out and bought it. They are just as please as I am. 23 January 2014
Amazing tv with great view Bought a competitive price than other retailers. Works perfect fits perfect and a perfect choice. Orderd and collected on the same day actually in the same hour fab! 23 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch TV Excellent value money TV has all the features expected. The reason I bought the TV was for its Smart functions. The Smart channels available are poor and can`t be updated (let me know if incorrect).The connectivity to the internet via Apple devices has made surfing on the internet accessible. You would need to purchase a WIFI dongle if you require WIFI connection. It?s a good TV ,at the present moment not a good Smart TV . 23 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch TV Excellent value for money - recommended. 23 January 2014
Good TV So far I'm really pleased with this purchase. Easy to set up and install. I bought a cheap universal wifi dongle, connected up to the USB port and within seconds it was transformed into a Smart TV. Connectivity is adequate. The media browser has had no problem in playing multiple video and music file formats and with DNLA capability, you can stream video and music directly to it. The only slight nit pick is that the only on demand service available is the BBC iPlayer. Would recommend. 23 January 2014
Value for money it does everything that a full blown hd can , only back drop is the set of apps like youtube cannot be changed , no browser inbuilt or no app download(which some smart tv s can i think) ,, but this is what you get for this price and i think its a good deal till now!!!! 23 January 2014
Top value This is a great tv for the price. Installation was just plug in and switch on. I have mine wired to the internet and the smart options although basic work well. Very good picture but the sound is weak when watching movies etc. 23 January 2014
The not so SMART tele Whilst this tele gave a great picture quality, it is not possible to add any additional apps to the already installed limited no. We returned it, 22 January 2014
Nice T V Great picture, easy to install, only downside have to turn off at the mains as no on /off switch 22 January 2014
<<< Previous 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 Next >>>
(141 Questions | 161 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
5 days ago
I live on the Northern Ireland border and am wondering if the TV is dual frequency so I can receive Irish channels
Customer avatar
by
cornsheds
Location: Co. Donegal, Ireland
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 week, 3 days ago
I cannot get sound from Argos sound bar (TB340) when connected to the SPDIF digital coaxial socket. Is there something I need to do? I have selected PCM in the menu but the only sound is from the TV. Soundbar works fine with other connections.
Customer avatar
by
Andrew Miller
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 week, 5 days ago
Customer avatar
by
beccy
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 month ago
Hi.
If i connect a vga cable to this tv from my computer can this be used a monitor.Has the remote got a funtion to turn this tv for monitor purpose only.
Kind Regards.
Kader.
Customer avatar
by
Kader
Location: London, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 month ago
Answer: 
Hi Kader,
This model has a VGA connection on the back of the product therefore you will be able to use it as a monitor for your computer. In order to switch from TV to the input from your computer use the source button on the remote and select the VGA input.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 138/0523

Cash price £219.99 Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 239.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.