Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

 138/0523
was £399.99 £279.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £120.00
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

With an edge-lit LED TV screen this Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p television boasts superb image quality. Coupled with a 7 day electronic programme you will never miss your favourite shows again.

Vibrant colours and amazing detail courtesy of its Full HD 1080p display . Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 40in (102cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 10 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 176/176 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 6 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H60.7, W93, D4cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H60.7, W93, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 15kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 63 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 91kWh.

EAN: 4902530006896

Additional Information

* Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 292.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 4.2 5 167 170
Value for money purchase The size of the screen is excellent. Can add other items to the tv by cables. 28 January 2014
very good value for money very pleased with this TV, easy to use & looks expensive. 28 January 2014
Excellent tv good buy This tv is really good buy giving good quality and connectivity would recommend 28 January 2014
Bought this tv but cannot buy the dongle for it as it is out of stock so stuck with a tv which is not too smart 28 January 2014
Top Product - Rock Bottom Price Excellent TV for the price, only thing it needs is built in wifi connectivity... Would recommend to anyone rather than buying a better 'brand' as this does the exact same job at easily HALF THE PRICE 28 January 2014
terrible Had nothing but problems with this tv first one had screen damage before i had even turned it on and the second had a constant what looked like a black smudge on the screen it was deemed irrepairable and i had to take it back again avoid this tv !!! 28 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch full hd smart led tv This TV ticks all the boxes in every way. The only minus is that there is no on/off on tv itself. Everything is on the remote. 28 January 2014
wi fi connection when you buy this tv it clearly says that you need a wi fi dongle to switch to smart tv so although i would recommend the tv for tvs sake .argos suggest that you buy the necessary dongle as part of a special offer !! great!! except they dont have them in stock and the alternative offered doesnt work with hitachi tv ,there seems to be a lack of supply for the missing dongle 28 January 2014
tv Argos should have said need smart dongle as i have a lg wi fi dongle that is not compatible whith this tv poor showing as im a good argos customer ive wasted my money once more due to you and your poor advertsing thanks 28 January 2014
dongle needed great tv, lovely picture, dongle needed unless coneecting straight to router. 28 January 2014
Hitachi Smart TV Excellent TV. Easy to set up and a joy to watch. A good buy. 26 January 2014
Good TV Its a good Tv & value for money.Its easy to operate with many functions.Its very light weight & slim.looks great.I will recommend this product. 25 January 2014
Top quality picture I was a bit wary about buying this TV as it seemed to cheap to be true, but I need not have worried. The TV is excellent, picture is great quality, set up is simple. Would recommend this product to anyone. 24 January 2014
its ok its a good TV but internet not very good on i, I think it just good to watch TV not any good for being a smart TV 23 January 2014
great tv this is a very good tv for the money does everything it said in the description 23 January 2014
GOOD, REASONABLY PRICED TV. Although it came with a different stand to the one it is advertised with, it is a good TV. The normal picture is clear and the HD picture is very good. Very easy to set up. Has a nice dark silver frame around it, which makes a change from the usual black ones. The sound is of the usual quality that you would expect on a slim-line TV, but we wanted to buy a sound bar at the same time anyway. The Smart aspect is a good, fun asset to have on this TV, and comes in handy when there is nothing on! 23 January 2014
Hitachi TV Excellent value for money and has lit up my living room. If you want a big screen, excellent pictures and be able to save some cash this is the model for you. 23 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch smart tv Tha tv is good nice picture quality but can not get a code for sky remote and have to wait for hitachi out apps on unable to load yourself 23 January 2014
Hitachi 40" Full HD Smart tv model 40HXT16U J Good quality smart HD at a good price. Connectivity 2x hdmi, 1x scart, 1x ethernet lan for broadband/smart feature, spdif coax, vga for pc to tv streaming but also dlna wireless streaming, earphone jack, stereo jack. Only let down for some may be only 1x usb input and you can't hot-swap devices. Smooth clear full hd picture, good volume levels, but limited quality, fine for normal tv viewing but might want sound-bar or system adding for good quality sounds listening to music and film soundtracks 23 January 2014
Fantastic Value For Money Have been looking round for a 40 inch Smart TV for a while. When I saw this one I was a little worried due to the low cost. I shouldn't have been. This is just what I wanted. I was so impressed I recommended to my sister and cousin who both went out and bought it. They are just as please as I am. 23 January 2014
<<< Previous 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 Next >>>
(135 Questions | 158 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

how do i connect the dondel to the tv

1 week, 4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
roseie
Location: hull
Age: 55 to 64
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 day ago
Answer: 
Hi,

A dongle is connected to the Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps via the USB slot.

Thank you for using Question and Answer
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 week, 4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
janet
Location: Leicester, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

2 Answer(s)

1 week ago
Answer: 
Grey black
Customer avatar
by
Yorkie
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

1 week ago
Answer: 
This TV is anthracite in colour
Customer avatar
by
Argos Buyer
Location: Milton Keynes
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Can you get skype?

1 week, 6 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Linda
Location: Luton, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
1 day ago
Answer: 
Hi,

I have looked into this for you and Skype is pre-loaded on the Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

Thank you for using Question and Answer
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper
Location: Acton Gate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
 
1 answer

Ethernet Port

1 week, 6 days ago
Whats the ethernet port for.
Customer avatar
by
biggles40
Location: sheffield
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
1 week, 6 days ago
Answer: 
Hi, thank you for your question.

The Eithernet port allows you to connect to your router via cable, as opposed to Wi-Fi (using a USB dongle), if this were preferred.

Thank you for using Q & A.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 147
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 138/0523

Cash price £279.99 Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 292.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.