Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

 138/0523
was £399.99 £239.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £160.00
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

With an edge-lit LED TV screen this Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p television boasts superb image quality. Coupled with a 7 day electronic programme you will never miss your favourite shows again.

Vibrant colours and amazing detail courtesy of its Full HD 1080p display . Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • Smart TV.
  • Screen size: 40in (102cm).
  • Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Response time 10 milliseconds.
  • Viewing angle 176/176 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.
  • Component video socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 6 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • 7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H60.7, W93, D4cm.
  • Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand: H60.7, W93, D22cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand: 15kg.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 63 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 91kWh.

EAN: 4902530006896

Additional Information

* Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 242.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 4.2 5 178 181
Bargain buy Very good quality tv. Easy to set up and fantastic picture. Not so easy to set up the Smart tv bit. I bought a 50in HITACHI smart tv for my lounge that had a dingle included. Bought the 40in model for my daughters pad, but NO dongle!!! Very annoying that it's not included 06 February 2014
Very good fot the price Happy overall with the performance of this telly. Only downside is the available apps through the Smart 04 February 2014
a good quality television at a good price a good quality tv at a very affordable price. has freeview. and other features such as HD ready. plug n play point ready for the game console. easy to set up. 04 February 2014
Great Big Buys My telly went bang, so a Trip to Argos got me this great 40inch TV loving it.....only thing that is not the best is the sound quality but that's what a volume button is for 04 February 2014
Unbeatable value for money The picture quality of this model is exceptionally good particularly given the bargain basement price. The overall design is clean and functional and not glitzy - so doesn't distract from what's on the screen. The set-up was simple even for a non-techy type like me. Only bad point is the slightly disappointing sound output. I'd definitely recommend buying a soundbar to go with it. Overall this is really fantastic value for money. 01 February 2014
great tv at a great price. 30 January 2014
Great value the television is fantastic.it would have been better if the half price dongle had been in stock.three weeks have passed and it is still not in stock,so I cannot comment on the smart feature on the television 29 January 2014
product requires dongle Where have all the dongles gone? 108/2816 offered at half price as part of the deal. Still zero stock in Argos uk. When can I get one? 29 January 2014
Good value for money Very happy with tv got at sale price even better Thankyou Argos 29 January 2014
Excellent value Really great tv for the price. Highly impressed 29 January 2014
good looking was a little disappointed with that you HAVE to have a dongle but when tried to order the one on special offer with the tv every store out of stock. and can only get few things to use the internet on as you need a real expensive one to get a good SMART TV 29 January 2014
Value for money purchase The size of the screen is excellent. Can add other items to the tv by cables. 28 January 2014
very good value for money very pleased with this TV, easy to use & looks expensive. 28 January 2014
Excellent tv good buy This tv is really good buy giving good quality and connectivity would recommend 28 January 2014
Bought this tv but cannot buy the dongle for it as it is out of stock so stuck with a tv which is not too smart 28 January 2014
Top Product - Rock Bottom Price Excellent TV for the price, only thing it needs is built in wifi connectivity... Would recommend to anyone rather than buying a better 'brand' as this does the exact same job at easily HALF THE PRICE 28 January 2014
terrible Had nothing but problems with this tv first one had screen damage before i had even turned it on and the second had a constant what looked like a black smudge on the screen it was deemed irrepairable and i had to take it back again avoid this tv !!! 28 January 2014
Hitachi 40 inch full hd smart led tv This TV ticks all the boxes in every way. The only minus is that there is no on/off on tv itself. Everything is on the remote. 28 January 2014
wi fi connection when you buy this tv it clearly says that you need a wi fi dongle to switch to smart tv so although i would recommend the tv for tvs sake .argos suggest that you buy the necessary dongle as part of a special offer !! great!! except they dont have them in stock and the alternative offered doesnt work with hitachi tv ,there seems to be a lack of supply for the missing dongle 28 January 2014
tv Argos should have said need smart dongle as i have a lg wi fi dongle that is not compatible whith this tv poor showing as im a good argos customer ive wasted my money once more due to you and your poor advertsing thanks 28 January 2014
<<< Previous 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 Next >>>
(138 Questions | 160 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
1 week, 5 days ago
Hi.
If i connect a vga cable to this tv from my computer can this be used a monitor.Has the remote got a funtion to turn this tv for monitor purpose only.
Kind Regards.
Kader.
Customer avatar
by
Kader
Location: London, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 4 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Kader,
This model has a VGA connection on the back of the product therefore you will be able to use it as a monitor for your computer. In order to switch from TV to the input from your computer use the source button on the remote and select the VGA input.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 week, 6 days ago
hi there I have just purchased the tv and dongle that you advised , I am having problems as it is loading extrememly slowly and only picking up 3 bars , do I need a stronger dongle ? what advice please thanx regards dawn :(
Customer avatar
by
poppygirl
Location: South Shields, Tyne and Wear, UK
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 weeks ago
just bought this tv and noticed there are no controls on the actual television if something were to happen to remote contol how would i be able to contol tv
Customer avatar
by
missx
Location: Cornwall, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

2 weeks ago
Answer: 
Theres controls at the back on the left hand side
Customer avatar
by
mick mac
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age: 35 to 44
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
4 weeks ago
I have no internet connection and where do I find the smart apps
Customer avatar
by
Sara
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

4 weeks ago
Answer: 
Hi Sara,
Best advice is to call the team on the technical helpdesk on 0845 604 0105 and they will be assist you with connecting the product to your network.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
Location: Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps. 138/0523

Cash price £239.99 Please note item 1380523 has previously been on sale at 242.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.