Hitachi 28In HD Ready FVHD LED TV/DVD Combi with Smart Apps.

 129/7355
was £219.99 £149.99 See the Additional Information panel for the pricing footnote. Save £70.00
Hitachi 28In HD Ready FVHD LED TV/DVD Combi with Smart Apps.

Product summary

pdp_socialmediamain
pdp_layout

Essential extras

Product description / spec

pdp_proddesc2colleft

This Hitachi 28" HD Ready TV/DVD combi with Smart apps offers superb image quality with its LED display. The Smart apps mean you can enjoy some great online content, including BBC iPlayer, YouTube and Facebook. Freeview HD will provide you with a great selection of TV channels in stunning HD, without subscription. Installed with a sleep timer, this TV combi would suit any bedroom or kitchen.

  • Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Flickr.

Television picture quality:

  • HD Ready display resolution.
  • Resolution 1396 x 768 pixels.
  • Edge-lit LED TV screen.
  • 28in (71cm) TV screen.
  • Motion rate 50Hz.
  • Viewing angle 170/150 degrees.

Connectivity:

  • 2 HDMI sockets, 1 SCART socket and 2 USB ports.
  • PC input socket.
  • Composite.
  • Headphone socket.
  • AV socket.
  • Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).
  • Ethernet connection.
  • DLNA compatibility.
  • Suitable for wall mounting 100 x 100 bracket.
  • Smart TV.

Sound quality:

  • NICAM sound system.
  • 2 x 2.5 watts RMS power output.

Digital features:

  • Freeview HD digital tuner.
  • CI+ slot.

Additional features:

  • Sleep timer.
  • Colour of TV silver.
  • Child lock.
  • Size of TV H40.7, W64.1, D4cm.
  • Weight of TV 4.5kg (unpackaged).
  • Size of TV with stand H45.1, W64.1, D20.3cm.
  • Weight of TV with stand 8.6kg.

DVD-specific features:

  • DVD player.
  • Playback compatibility: DVD.

Energy efficiency information:

  • Energy efficiency rating: A.
  • On mode power consumption 33 watts.
  • Annual power consumption 48kWh.

EAN: 4902530006865

Additional Information

* Please note item 1297355 has previously been on sale at 169.99.

Prices correct as displayed but are subject to change

Customer reviews and ratings

Hitachi 28In HD Ready FVHD LED TV/DVD Combi with Smart Apps. 4.3 5 33 35
Lightweight, sleek and easy set up! I have had this wall mounted. The wall mount (not Argos) was a bit difficult because the bolt holes on the back of the TV were difficult to line up. Set up was easy and basically just plus it in turn it on and off you go. I don't have internet access so can't comment on the APP function. 20 May 2014
v.good bargain for the price daughter loved it for the apps etc, you must remember to buy a dongle with it thou 09 May 2014
only good with HD channels This TV displays a good image only with HD channels and/or from dvd source. With all other channels the image is sometimes distorted. The audio also is not so good. Would not recommend. 06 May 2014
tv/dvd I was looking for a tv/dvd combi 28" at a good price..and the Hitachi fit the bill as it was on offer. It's for the second bedroom so ideal. Haven't tried the wifi as need to connect the dongle I purchased separately. The picture is very good, the sound isn't that great, but overall very happy. DVD quality is fantastic. 31 March 2014
Good for the price This TV came with a cut price dongle which is needed to access the internet. The initial set up of the TV was easy but not quite as easy to access the internet. Sometimes it takes a long time get onto the iplayer but that could be the iplayer itself or perhaps the broadband connection. Overall a good product 25 March 2014
value for money Easy to set up, sharp clear picture solid base and looks smart nice finish. Good value for the price. 20 January 2014
Nice set but irksome shortcomings For the price, you get lots of decent features including DVD and access to various online apps. However, there are some annoyances. Firstly YouTube causes the entire box to freeze. Secondly, there appears to be no way of switching off the set other than at the mains. So the power light glows brightly all night. Thirdly, the headphone socket is positioned awkwardly behind the screen. Finally, the font on some of the menus is very small so some people might find these unreadable. Overall happy. 14 January 2014
A++ Very nice picture and very easy to use. Very handy having the built-in DVD drive and USB connection to access external media. 10 January 2014
Does exactly what it says - except the wireless Bought this TV for my 89 year old mum to give her a better picture than her old TV and so she can use iPlayer in her living room instead of on her PC in a cramped study. V easy to set up, no probs at all with the TV side. The only issue, just like other people have said, was not being able to buy a compatible dongle for the wireless connection. We moved the router, connected the TV directly and used the dongle on the PC instead - works fine, but beware if that's not an option for you. 09 January 2014
Got There in the End I was tipped over in buying by the fact it's a Smart TV and I should be able to transmit stuff wirelessly. I had problems with set up and made many calls to the support of both Argos, & ISP. A solution was found in the end when Plusnet changed my router password & reset all they could. Thankfully I can now achieve all that I want to & I'm delighted by the quality of the with the set. Thanks to both Argos & ISP for their patience and willingness to sort my difficulties out. 09 January 2014
Pretty good tv As mentioned in other reviews,a bit of a pain that the wireless adapter doesn't come with the tv but mine was hard wired anyway.Picture not as crisp as i'd hoped and the pre installed apps are basic but functional.All in all good value tv! 09 January 2014
Hitachi 28inch bought for bedroom great so far very happy with it 09 January 2014
Could have been made by ronseal! Bought this for daughters bedroom, with limitations to size, this seemed to offer what we were looking for. Has not disappointed at all. Fairly easy to get it all set up, obviously using teenagers' help where required. Daughter has used "normal" TV, smart tv, DVD etc and all work well. Features seem to be perfect for teenagers bedroom television. May well be having to upgrade the other kids bedroom televisions now to match. Very pleased. 08 January 2014
Ideal bedroom tv Lots of tv for the money. Slim even with DVD player so fits nicely on wall bracket. Picture and sound good although HD freeview channels not as good as my big tv downstairs. I don't use smart features so can't comment on this. 08 January 2014
Good value, but no dongle available Excellent Television set. I wanted to free space and remove wires from my previous television. This fitted the bill perfectly, with it's built in DVD player and Freeview HD. At 28' the size is perfect for my room. The only disappointment is the lack of availability of the recommended wireless dongle for the set to enable the smart functions, no in store or online availability from Argos. It is still out of stock over a week later and clearly not available elsewhere. 30 October 2013
Good item Ok item easy to set up only down size in volume of it isn't to great as in going louder when you turn it up and sometimes the screen isn't a grey picture when playing a DVD apart from that it's great little tv 29 October 2013
good value very pleased with this, really easy to set up and does what it does, no problems. Great value. 29 October 2013
Hitachi 28 lcd tv dvd combi Was not impressed at all. Should be Smart tv but not very user friendly at all. Needed whole load of different accessories to be able to get contacted with internet. Which is not explained. Absolutely waste of time. Will not recommend. 29 October 2013
great tv evwrything about this tv is brilliant 23 October 2013
well worth it purchased for our 6n hf yr old in his room,easy installation , easy to use dvd , internet access can be faffy to say the least was a bit fiddly to do wireless side . but none the less still overall really pleased with it and if all goes well over next 6months will be buying another to replace our Toshiba in our bedroom. 22 October 2013
(57 Questions | 59 Answers)

Questions & Answers

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
1 answer

Internet access

3 weeks, 4 days ago
Just bought a Hitachi 28HYJ45U, have managed to connect to wifi through the dongle. However when I click on the web browser button I get a clock going round and round for ever, if I click on youtube, the youtube logo pops up then goes away and I am left with a blank screen except for a rectangle in the top right hand corner, can't do anything else except escape out of it, Thnx in advance
Customer avatar
by
Normski
Location: Lymm, Warrington, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 week, 4 days ago
Answer: 
Hi Normski,
First thing to check is the connection to your network is strong. If possible I would connect the product directly to your router to provide the most efficent connection. If you have a good connection and continue to have issues with opening the portal please call the technical help desk on 0845 604 0105 and they will be able to talk through the issue and look to resolve it.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
marg
Location: Tottenham, London N17, UK
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

1 month ago
Answer: 
Hi marg,
The dongle is required to connect this product to a WiFi network. The dongle should pick up your BT WiFi network and you will then be able to access apps such as BBC iPlayer and YouTube. If you are continuing to have difficulties connecting the product please call the technical helpdesk on 0845 6040105.
Best Regards
Hitachi Product Expert
Customer avatar
by
Hitachi Product Expert
Location: Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Cole
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 months, 1 week ago
Answer: 
Hi,

Netflix is not available as an app on Hitachi TV's at the present time.
Customer avatar
by
Alex@Argos
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Can you use this tv in Spain

2 months, 2 weeks ago
I need to take a tv to Spain is it compatible to use there
Customer avatar
by
TVTEN
Location: Wales
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

1 Answer(s)

Staff Answer
2 months ago
Answer: 
You will be able to use this TV in Spain, however some features may not work. For example the freeview tuner will only pick up channels whilst in the U.K and some apps will only allow you to use them if you are in the U.K or have a U.K ip address.
Customer avatar
by
Argos Helper 178
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>
2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>

Credit offers

Argos card

Get longer to pay with the Argos Card

Hitachi 28In HD Ready FVHD LED TV/DVD Combi with Smart Apps. 129/7355

Cash price £149.99 Please note item 1297355 has previously been on sale at 169.99.

How to get this deal
creditOptionHelp

Buy now, pay later on the Argos Card

Get the Argos Card

The Buy now, pay later plan presented is the best one available on this product. Please select Apply for credit in the Trolley to enjoy paying later with an Argos Card

Already have the Argos Card

Select the Buy now, pay later plan presented at the checkout to pay for your purchases with your Argos Card.


Representative 29.9 APR (variable)


Representative Example: Spend £450,make 36 monthly payments of £18.25, total repayable £656.91, APR 29.9% fixed.

Representative 29.9% APR variable
The APR relates to the Argos Card as a whole and is variable. The interest rate for the Fixed Payment Plans will be fixed. Deferred interest will be charged if you dont clear the balance by the due date.

Delivery costs & reservation information

Currently out of stock for delivery

Reserve to collect in store

Why risk a wasted trip? Reserve it now, pay in store when you collect.